black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 797
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:41 am

-windows 8.1

-java jdk 1.8.0_66

-a new stack with 1 field and 1 button (quit), and white background

-android device with 5.1

-android sdk manager (see screen shot)

->apk created with LC9 = black screen

->apk created with LC8.1.9 = okay, app opens fine

any idea ?
Attachments
and.png

sphere
Posts: 662
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by sphere » Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:10 pm

No, Sorry.
LC9 and APK on Android 6.0 (but minimum adroid 4.1) Works OK with me.

There was a similair bug with Android 7, don't know if this was solved yet.
But there is a work around by Panos for that on LC's Bug site.

Most probably you have the accelerated in your "on preOpenStack" handler?
Please, stop quoting things my brother did not say. Thank you. Hans Zweistein.

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 797
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:14 pm

sphere wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:10 pm
Most probably you have the accelerated in your "on preOpenStack" handler?
No handler at all. It's really a bare stack : 1 field, 1 button.

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:02 pm

Hi all,

Works fine for me here.

@ bangkok
Could you attach the stack here? Moreover, what is the device you are using? Do you have access to a different device?

Best,
Panos
--

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 797
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:51 pm

LiveCode_Panos wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:02 pm
Could you attach the stack here? Moreover, what is the device you are using? Do you have access to a different device?
Here is the stack.

I use an android 5.1 terminal with a built-in barcode scanner.

Never had "black screen" problem.

The app is fine when compiled with LC 8.1.9 : same stack, same device.

Moreover, i've just tried on another PC : windows 10, jdk 1.8.0_101 (different version)... same results.
Attachments
paf2.zip
(1.28 KiB) Downloaded 128 times

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:49 am

Hi bangkok,

Thank you for the stack. I have tested on two Android devices (one running Android 8 and one running Android 5) and I cannot reproduce the problem.

What happens if you set the minimum Android version to 2.3.3 (in the Android Standalone Settings)?

Best,
Panos
--

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 797
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:32 am

LiveCode_Panos wrote:
Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:49 am
What happens if you set the minimum Android version to 2.3.3 (in the Android Standalone Settings)?
No change. Black screen when compiled with LC 9

I did another test : on a samsung phone with android 5.1.1.

It works fine with LC 8.1.9 and LC 9

This is so frustrating....

Why I get such a different behavior on the first device ?

A part from widgets, what are the big changes for android between LC version 8.1.9 and version LC 9 ?

Or do you think it might be a parameter to set on the android device , something special although small that could lead to 8.1.9 compilation success and LC 9 failure ?

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:26 pm

Hi bangkok,

Thank you for the update. OK, so it seems that there is something specific to this device that LC 9 does not like.

We have done a lot of changes between LC 8 and 9, one of them is that we use a different version of the android toolchain to build the android engines.

What are the specs of the device that does not work with LC 9 (model, arch etc)?

Best,
Panos
--

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 797
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:57 am

LiveCode_Panos wrote:
Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:26 pm
What are the specs of the device that does not work with LC 9 (model, arch etc)?
Hello Panos,

It's a OCBS-D8000 (from Shenzhen OCOM Technologies Limited)

You'll find all the specs on this page (alibaba's page with technical presentation of the device) :

https://tinyurl.com/ycflc7xx

(PS the device is brand news, received it just a few days ago. No weird apps added, no update done, just the battery charged and the LC app installed for testing,that's all)

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 797
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Thu May 31, 2018 10:01 am

Another case, from Jacques.

http://lists.runrev.com/pipermail/use-l ... 47437.html

-not the target version (in the manifest)
-not the minimum version
-was ok with a previous build of LC 9 (dp11)


... the mystery deepens.
;-)

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4560
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by jacque » Thu May 31, 2018 6:02 pm

I wonder if it's the Java version I'm using, sometime between the old build and my new one I updated Java. I need to test with a plain stack and get back to Panos. I don't think it's LC 9 in general because the older build used 9.0dp11, and that works. Maybe something else changed.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”