Error "Can't open stack file"

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by dunbarx » Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:55 pm

Working in a substack in v.8.1.7, I intermittently get at the above error when saving. Must dismiss with "OK".

Nothing seems to change, and the stack is indeed saved. Went back to v8.1.6 and this does not occur.

Anyone see this?

Craig Newman

bogs
Posts: 5435
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by bogs » Thu Nov 09, 2017 10:38 pm

I've seen that error, but only when opening files made in later versions of Lc with earlier versions, for instance trying to open a 7.x or 8.x file from 6.x. Opening it with consecutively higher versions tells me approximately which version made it (usually).

Weird that you would see it opening 8.1.6 from 8.1.7, but I haven't even tried 8.1.7 yet.
Image

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by dunbarx » Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:49 pm

Bogs.

maybe we will both go back to 5.1.

Craig

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by dunbarx » Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:56 pm

Well , I now see the dialog in v8.1.6 as well.
Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 5.56.51 PM.png
Of course, the stack is already open, or I would not try to save it. Anyway, it saves just fine except for the extra mouseClick and the fact that the dialog is modal.


Craig

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9823
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:09 am

Can you run your own save command to diagnose this? e.g.:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   save stack "Some Stack"
   if the result is not empty then
      put the result &"("& sysError() &")"
   end if
end mouseUp
The key here is the call to sysError, which will deliver the OS error code for what went wrong.

And if you don't get an error at all at least you'll have narrowed it down to a bug in the IDE rather than the engine, and you'll have an isolated test case ready to submit with a bug report.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by dunbarx » Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:33 am

Richard.

Thanks for sticking with this.

I get
"can't open stack file(2)"
So "sysError()" is "2"?

Craig

Edit.

I made a new button on the card, and ran the handler from it. The stack saved, because on re-opening, the button was still there with its script. It always saves. Anyway,the stack eventually closed, and now upon re-opening, over and over, the error still appears in msg, but the dialog no longer does.

???

EDIT again. Sometimes the dialog appears, and sometimes it don't. Works fine overall, though.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9823
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:01 am

On OS X error 2 is "no such file or directory". But since you know there's a folder there, it might be an early warning sign of disk trouble.

Run Disk Utility to check for bad nodes, possibly consider running permissions repair (but definitely check the disk first).

Is your HD formatted with APFS or HFS+?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by dunbarx » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:12 am

Richard.

Running as I write. This never occurred to me, since other stacks I am fooling around with exhibit no such nonsense. But I will report back soon...

Thank you.

Craig

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by dunbarx » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:24 am

Hi.

There were about a million permissions that needed repair, but nothing on the disk itself. There are five stacks attached to the splash stack, a mainstack and four subs. Each of those five exhibits the oddity. The problem persists, and no other stack shows the issue.

The mainstack is on the desktop. Does that matter in v8?

This only popped up when I started working in v.8.

Should I be concerned?

Craig

bogs
Posts: 5435
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by bogs » Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:33 am

dunbarx wrote:
Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:49 pm
Bogs.
...maybe we will both go back to 5.1.
Craig
I so wish I had the ability to get it :twisted: I would love to see (and play in) the rev takes on the IDE after 2.x up to 6.x.

I have the next best thing, though, since I regularly play in Mc 2.2 to 4 now (pre-datagrid intro), and Lc 6.0.1 (thank you again to Heather!)

I sure hope you and Richard can figure this out, though. I know it must be irritating.
Image

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by jacque » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:02 pm

@Craig: are these true substacks embedded in the main stackfile or are they separate mainstacks opened by a launcher? I only ask because sometimes the distinctions get lost, and you've mentioned purging a stack from memory. True substacks can't be purged, they can only be closed. They remain in RAM until the mainstack is removed because the whole stackfile is in RAM.

At any rate I wonder if you have duplicate stacks with the same names. Either there are two substacks, or there's one substack and you also open another independent stack with the same name. Duplicate stack names can wreak all kinds of havoc.

I'm not sure that would explain the system error though.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by dunbarx » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:31 pm

Jacque.

Late reply. Sorry.

True substacks of a single mainstack. No duplicate stacks.

Slowly working through the v.8 peccadillos. At least I am getting used to the new format, dictionary, etc.

Craig

bogs
Posts: 5435
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by bogs » Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:57 am

Stock dictionary, or other? Just curious myself.
Image

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by dunbarx » Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:43 pm

Bogs.

Stock.

Craig

bogs
Posts: 5435
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Error "Can't open stack file"

Post by bogs » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 pm

Thank you. I know you have a lot of plug ins, and I don't want to push you towards others. I hope the stock dictionary is adequately fast for you, but if it winds up not being, test this page Brian is hosting. It is the actual dictionary, kinda, just currently faster, less bulky, and a tad more resizeable (at least as much as your web browser is).
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”