activating target button

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
cusingerBUSCw5N
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 9:24 pm

activating target button

Post by cusingerBUSCw5N » Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:15 pm

Gnomes in the night

Yesterday, I was testing LiveCode on the IOS simulator. Today it doesn't work. I opened Xcode first. I opened my Xcode project which showed that I had done the configurations correctly.
I even opened the simulator. Then I opened LiveCode. The target was still greyed out and it won't test.

What happened...and how do I fix it? :cry:
Attachments
livecode2.png
xcode shows that it has successfully created the settings
livecode1.png
not shown target is still greyed out even though the simulator shows to the left - here it is creating an error looking for the simulator

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6068
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: activating target button

Post by dunbarx » Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:27 pm

Hi.

If we are back to dealing with LC alone maybe I can help.
The target was still greyed out and it won't test.
Is "the target" a greyed button or field? A menuItem?

Craig

Klaus
Posts: 11056
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: activating target button

Post by Klaus » Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:39 pm

Hi Craig,

menu: Development: Test Target: (List of available simulators here...)

@ cusingerBUSCw5N
Just a guess:
Did you install Xcode 8.1, or maybe it has been auto installed, and LC8.1.1 is not yet ready for that version?
Wouldn't be the first time...


Best

Klaus

cusingerBUSCw5N
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 9:24 pm

Re: activating target button

Post by cusingerBUSCw5N » Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:08 pm

so the solution was that I had not permanently installed LiveCode on the mac (I am new to Mac and tried to drag the application into the folder, rather than drag the application down into the image on the same button) Anyway. because of that, my LiveCode preference that I set yesterday, had disappeared. I had to go into LiveCode, Preferences, and Mobile Support and then re-connect it to the XCode files

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”