Connection string

Creating desktop or client-server database solutions?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Connection string

Post by D4vidrim » Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:50 pm

Hello!

I need to connect to an Oracle DB.

Here's the connection string I've received from the IT guys:

REC_PROD =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS_LIST =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = xyz.abc.asd.poi)(PORT = 1521))
)
(CONNECT_DATA = (SID = REC))
)

If I try to connect with SQL Developer I use:
Host: xyz.abc.asd.poi
Port: 1521
SID: REC

then I put my userid and password and it works.

On Livecode, in order to check the connection I use this script:

put revOpenDatabase( tDBType, tHost,tNome, tUser, tPwd ) into theConnectionID
answer "Id connessione: " &theConnectionID

where tDBType='oracle'
tHost='xyz.abc.asd.poi:1521'
tNome='REC'

Unfortunately it doesn't work, I don't get any error, LiveCode just quit on Windows XP while processing the first command with put revOpenDatabase.
I've checked every single variable and they all have the right string inside, what's wrong with it? Should I use a different string?

Please help me!

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Connection string

Post by D4vidrim » Wed Sep 07, 2016 5:46 am

Anyone has any tip to give? :oops:

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by MaxV » Wed Sep 07, 2016 1:38 pm

Oracle DB driver are only in livecode commercial version.
Do you use it?
Did you read this: http://livecode.wikia.com/wiki/OracleDB ?
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Connection string

Post by D4vidrim » Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:32 pm

Right now I'm using the Indy Version.

Klaus
Posts: 13806
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by Klaus » Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:13 pm

MaxV wrote:Oracle DB driver are only in livecode commercial version.
D4vidrim wrote:Right now I'm using the Indy Version.
OK, that should give you a clue! :D

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Connection string

Post by D4vidrim » Wed Oct 05, 2016 7:50 pm

Indy an Business are both commercial version of livecode, aren't they?
I haven't found any differences about Oracle DB on those 2 licences. Maybe I haven't looked on the right place? :oops:

Anyway I'm buying the Business versione in a month or so, then I hope this problem will disappear! :D

Klaus
Posts: 13806
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by Klaus » Wed Oct 05, 2016 7:59 pm

D4vidrim wrote:Indy an Business are both commercial version of livecode, aren't they?
True, but Max means the "Business" edtion of Livecode.
The INDY version does not support connection to a ORACLE database.

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by MaxV » Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:31 am

Klaus wrote:
D4vidrim wrote:Indy an Business are both commercial version of livecode, aren't they?
True, but Max means the "Business" edtion of Livecode.
The INDY version does not support connection to a ORACLE database.
Really? Are you sure?
The only differences between indy and business should be the annual revenues. If you earn more than $ 500,000 , you have to buy the business.
On this page there is no mention of driver difference between indy and business ( https://livecode.com/products/livecode- ... m/pricing/ ).
All business features are just:
  • PDF viewev
  • mergExt
  • for teams
  • better support from livecode

If oracle db driver are not included in INDY, livecode should declare it on plans page.
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

Klaus
Posts: 13806
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by Klaus » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:22 am

Hi Max,
MaxV wrote:
Klaus wrote:...
The INDY version does not support connection to a ORACLE database.
Really? Are you sure?
No! :D

At least this limitation has been present in earlier versions.
However if I look into the "Database Driver" folder inside of the LC app package,
there is no ORACLE database driver present in my INDY version!


Best

Klaus

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 858
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by dave.kilroy » Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:37 am

Hi all

Klaus I've got an Indie copy of LiveCode and appear to have access to Oracle (although not for all platforms)
Screenshot 2016-10-06 11.35.56.png
Klaus wrote:Hi Max,
MaxV wrote:
Klaus wrote:...
The INDY version does not support connection to a ORACLE database.
Really? Are you sure?
No! :D

At least this limitation has been present in earlier versions.
However if I look into the "Database Driver" folder inside of the LC app package,
there is no ORACLE database driver present in my INDY version!


Best

Klaus
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

Klaus
Posts: 13806
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by Klaus » Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:13 pm

Hi Dave,

yes, I can also check ORACLE in the "Inclusions" tab of the standalone builder setting,
but I made a little standalone with ORACLE checked there and this is what I got, see screenshot.
Not very surprised to be honest. 8)

And yes, Livecode should make this clear somehow!


Best

Klaus
Attachments
lc_oracle_standalone.jpg

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 858
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by dave.kilroy » Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:20 pm

Klaus - gosh just checked - you're completely right and I was fooled by the GUI! :oops: :shock: :lol: :roll:
Klaus wrote:Hi Dave,

yes, I can also check ORACLE in the "Inclusions" tab of the standalone builder setting,
but I made a little standalone with ORACLE checked there and this is what I got, see screenshot.
Not very surprised to be honest. 8)

And yes, Livecode should make this clear somehow!


Best

Klaus
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Connection string

Post by D4vidrim » Fri Oct 07, 2016 7:49 am

By the way, on this website http://livecode.wikia.com/wiki/OracleDB

They write:

Code: Select all

put revOpenDatabase("oracle",databaseName, DBHOST_Oracle, DBUSER_Oracle,DBPSWD_Oracle) into gConnectionID_Oracle
But then the example is:

Code: Select all

put revOpenDatabase("oracle", "www.example.com", "MyDB", myUsr, myPass) into cID
As you can see, they switch DBName with the DBHost... same thing on other documentation found on the web.

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by MaxV » Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:11 am

D4vidrim wrote:By the way, on this website http://livecode.wikia.com/wiki/OracleDB

They write:

Code: Select all

put revOpenDatabase("oracle",databaseName, DBHOST_Oracle, DBUSER_Oracle,DBPSWD_Oracle) into gConnectionID_Oracle
But then the example is:

Code: Select all

put revOpenDatabase("oracle", "www.example.com", "MyDB", myUsr, myPass) into cID
As you can see, they switch DBName with the DBHost... same thing on other documentation found on the web.
What is the correct syntax?

I suppose

Code: Select all

put revOpenDatabase("oracle", "www.example.com", "MyDB", myUsr, myPass) into cID
Please let me know.
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Connection string

Post by MaxV » Tue Oct 11, 2016 8:45 am

Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

Post Reply

Return to “Databases”