El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILDE)

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Fermin
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:44 pm

El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILDE)

Post by Fermin » Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:47 pm

The name of the new Apple operating system is "El Capitan", a Spanish word meaning "The Captain". But in true Spanish, this word must have an acute accent over the final "a", ie: “Capitán.” And so it is with many other Spanish words: Línea (line), más (more) tú (you)... or even my name: Fermín.
To put the accent on a letter -at least on a Spanish keyboard- you must first press the tilde key and then the target letter. But doing this within a script causes problems in LiveCode. If the tilde key is typed in a script, the cursor moves to the beginning of the text and, of course, the next thing you write appears out there, but the worst is that typing the tilde key twice in succession LiveCode CRASHES immediately!!!.

Of course, there is no word in the code LiveCode with any accent but if I want to put some Spanish comments in the script I must to be careful to avoid accents to not take a dislike.

Kind Regards,
Fermín

Sorry for my bad English (helped by google translator)

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7046
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by FourthWorld » Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:54 pm

Which version?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

Dixie
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by Dixie » Mon Jun 08, 2015 10:06 pm

OSX... El Capitan...:-)

Fermin
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:44 pm

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by Fermin » Mon Jun 08, 2015 10:42 pm

Live code 7.0.5.

And it is the same (crash) typing the tilde twice in the message box.

wsamples
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 4:12 am

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by wsamples » Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:18 am

Was this a problem in other versions of OS X? Have you tried using a utility to place the characters into the script editor or message box? Here under Linux I have no problem placing these characters into the script editor using a US international AltGr layout. What happens if you paste them into the editor?

Fermin
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:44 pm

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by Fermin » Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:15 pm

Hi, wsamples
The system installed on my mac is Mavericks. I have mentioned El Capitan because is something trendy (Apple) and also, of course, being an example of word tilde.
About the CopyPaste method, actually it works. It's what I use if I need words with accents.

I have uploaded a video to YouTube that shows all the process but LiveCode Forums said:

"Your account does not have permission to post links or domain/page references.:"

:(

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5155
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by jacque » Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:20 pm

Fermin wrote:Live code 7.0.5.

And it is the same (crash) typing the tilde twice in the message box.
I just typed tilde twice into the message box in Mavericks running LC 7.0.5 rc 3. No crash. I also tried the accent mark that is produced without the shift key and did not get a crash that way either. But I am not using a Spanish keyboard, and creating the accent-A on an American keyboard is done differently. Since I think the LC team is using English/American keyboards they are probably not aware of the problem. I think you should report it at http://quality.runrev.com. LC should never crash.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Fermin
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:44 pm

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by Fermin » Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:31 pm

Thanks, jacque, for your reply and for your advice (Quality runrev). I also think the problem is with the Spanish keyboard.
As I said in another post, I tried to put a link to a video where I recreated the process but I am not allowed to put it. Please, can anyone help me with this?

The message:
"Your account does not have permission to post links or domain/page references."

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5155
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by jacque » Tue Jun 09, 2015 10:32 pm

You need a minimum number of forum posts before you acquire full permissions. So just keep talking. :)
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

SparkOut
Posts: 2031
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by SparkOut » Tue Jun 09, 2015 10:38 pm

In the meantime, just say domain [dot] com /blah

Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Re: El Capitán knocks down LC (A problem with a Spanish TILD

Post by Peter Wood » Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:28 pm


Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”