No Sound & Hello!

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
stevenp
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:29 am

No Sound & Hello!

Post by stevenp » Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:44 pm

Hello, after buying Runtime Revolution 2.7 quite awhile ago (and never really making use of it) I've decided to check out Revolution 3.0 to see if there are many improvements.

I am starting to go through tutorials but none of the QuickTime videos have sound and even the "beep" command makes no noise. I do have QuickTime installed and have even attempted to download the correct codec but it didn't seem to make any difference. Any ideas?

After coming back to Revolution I can still see two major short-comings still: 1) There is still no real table object which is a must for professional database development (if anyone knows of a 3rd party one, please let me know. 2) The sound and music is still tied to QuickTime (which I find is a shame to require the end-user to have to install).

Aside from those two issues I think Revolution is a great development system. There's been some very nice software written in it to demonstrate its flexibility and power (ScreenSteps, btw, which I am trying out right now and I think its great.) Perhaps when I have completed my first project in it I'll have time to get a cross platform sound library written as a plug-in. But that will have to come later.

Thanks!

stevenp
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:29 am

Post by stevenp » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:30 pm

"Hello!" to everyone. BTW, I recognize Garret's name from other forums.

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:06 pm

Hi Steven,

Are you able to make noise with Rev 2.7? With any other software?

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

stevenp
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:29 am

Post by stevenp » Sun Dec 14, 2008 12:15 am

Mark,

Everything else makes noise. This appears to be the only application that doesn't. Unfortunately, I didn't try 2.7 on this computer before I installed the trial version of 3.0.

-Steven

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Sun Dec 14, 2008 12:22 am

Hi Steven,

Please try Rev 2.7 and see whether the videos and the beep work normally.

It would also be helpful if you played the same videos in the QuickTime player.

I suspect there are two completely unrelated issues at hand. You probably need to install additional codecs on your computer to be able to hear the sound. If the sounds of the video play fine on the Windows machine but not on Mac, it is even possible that the codecs are unavailable and you might have to convert the movies.

The other issue might be related to your sound settings and/or sound card. Make sure you have set the sound settings such as to play a particular sound when the system sound API is called. If your sound card is very old, it might simply not work.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

stevenp
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:29 am

Post by stevenp » Sun Dec 14, 2008 1:46 am

Mark,

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I went to check out the Window's Sound preferences and found those in particular weren't playing while other sounds were. I uninstalled the sound drivers and reinstalled them and everything's working. Thanks.

BTW, do you know of a 3rd party grid control? I do not need it for my first project but will need it for the others.

-Steven

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”