Bug in Paragraph Chunk

Discussion about LiveCode Global Jam events and activities

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Locked
Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Bug in Paragraph Chunk

Post by Peter Wood » Sun May 25, 2014 12:48 am

The new paragraph chunk returns empty when the string being chunked does not contain the end of paragraph mark.

In the message box

Code: Select all

put "The cat sat on the mat. The mat was on the floor." & return & "my second paragraph" into tText
put "***" & the first paragraph of tText & "***"
Result

Code: Select all

******
Line still works as expected

Code: Select all

put "The cat sat on the mat. The mat was on the floor." & return & "my second paragraph" into tText
put "***" & the first line of tText & "***"
Result

Code: Select all

***The cat sat on the mat. The mat was on the floor.***
I have filed bug number 12527

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Bug in Paragraph Chunk

Post by Simon » Sun May 25, 2014 3:43 am

Hi Peter,
With Win7 and LC 7dp5

Code: Select all

put "The cat sat on the mat. The mat was on the floor." & return & "my second paragraph" into tText
put "***" & the first paragraph of tText & "***"
returns

Code: Select all

***The cat sat on the mat. The mat was on the floor.***
Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Re: Bug in Paragraph Chunk

Post by Peter Wood » Sun May 25, 2014 4:18 am

Thanks Simon. I was running LC 7.0 DP 5 under OS X 10.7.5.

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Bug in Paragraph Chunk

Post by Simon » Sun May 25, 2014 4:32 am

Hi Peter,
OSX 10.9.2 LC 7 dp5
Does show the result you received.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Locked

Return to “LiveCode Global Jam”