Issues opening stack with widgets that have been updated

LiveCode Builder is a language for extending LiveCode's capabilities, creating new object types as Widgets, and libraries that access lower-level APIs in OSes, applications, and DLLs.

Moderators: LCMark, LCfraser

Post Reply
trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Issues opening stack with widgets that have been updated

Post by trevordevore » Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:04 pm

I have a widgets that I've added to a stack. I then realized that I needed to modify the widget so I did the following:

1. Relaunched LiveCode
2. Opened the extensionsBuilder
3. Uninstalled the widget
4. Relaunched LiveCode (LiveCode seems to think the widget is still loaded in memory after uninstalling)
5. Modified and tested the widget.
6. Installed the widget.
7. Restarted LiveCode and opened my project.

Now I am getting this error when I open the project and some of my widgets won't render.

executing at 5:56:55 PM
LCB Error Variables must be defined before being used - variable mState in com.livecode.extensions.devore.texticon.
Object ToggleNotes
LCB File texticon.lcb
LCB Line 164

mState is in fact defined and the widget compiles. How do I update widgets in existing projects without deleting the existing ones and recreating?

Also, I've been having trouble compiling with the latest develop branch so I am a few commits behind. With the latest I get very verbose "emit" output but can't get a working widget.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - https://www.screensteps.com

LiveCode Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode
LiveCode Builder Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode-builder

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Issues opening stack with widgets that have been updated

Post by trevordevore » Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:19 pm

Hmm, I did some more restarts/recompile/reinstalls and then opened my project right after installing (without restarting) and everything came up.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - https://www.screensteps.com

LiveCode Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode
LiveCode Builder Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode-builder

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Issues opening stack with widgets that have been updated

Post by trevordevore » Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:32 pm

Another update. I am able to compile from develop again. I think there was a conflict with the text measuring commits I pull in from @runrevian's branch (I need them for my widgets).
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - https://www.screensteps.com

LiveCode Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode
LiveCode Builder Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode-builder

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode Builder”