Setting some properties not working

Moderators: LCMark, LCfraser

Post Reply
trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Setting some properties not working

Post by trevordevore » Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:46 am

On occasion I'm having trouble setting properties. For example, try the following example:

Drag the segmented control onto a stack. In the message box execute the following LiveCode Script:

Code: Select all

set the selectedSegment of widget 1 to 2
For me, nothing happens. It should change the selected segment to the 2nd one. In my own version of the segmented control, I've tried adding a beep (execute script "beep") but I don't hear it so it leads me to believe that the "set" handler isn't being called. I've seen similar behavior with some other setters I've been trying to define.

Anyone else seeing similar behavior?
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - http://www.screensteps.com

Levure Application Framework: https://github.com/trevordevore/levure
LiveCode Resources for Developers: http://livecode.bluemangolearning.com

benjibeaumont
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Setting some properties not working

Post by benjibeaumont » Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Hey Trevor,

There is an error being thrown when setting properties that you're not getting. The message box is chewing the error. We're updating this for the next build.

Also, the IDE has now been moved from SVN to the submodule in Git. If you checkout develop you'll get the IDE we're working on so should get this update for sooner.

Regards,

Ben
Ben Beaumont | Runtime Revolution

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Setting some properties not working

Post by trevordevore » Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:28 pm

Ben - I checked out the latest and was able to build and launch the IDE. The Widget Builder isn't showing up in the plugins list, however. I don't see it in the ide/Plugins in the repo.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - http://www.screensteps.com

Levure Application Framework: https://github.com/trevordevore/levure
LiveCode Resources for Developers: http://livecode.bluemangolearning.com

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Setting some properties not working

Post by trevordevore » Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:30 pm

Oh, and them message box is placing it's output in the same field where you type the code to execute.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - http://www.screensteps.com

Levure Application Framework: https://github.com/trevordevore/levure
LiveCode Resources for Developers: http://livecode.bluemangolearning.com

benjibeaumont
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Setting some properties not working

Post by benjibeaumont » Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:17 pm

Hey Trevor,

We have fixes to all those items but they've not been merged yet. Not everyone has moved forward from SVN yet.. that will happen in the over the next 2-3 working days. The widget building was replaced with the "extension builder" which should show up in the plugin list.

Warm regards,

Ben
Ben Beaumont | Runtime Revolution

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Setting some properties not working

Post by trevordevore » Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:22 pm

Ah, I do see the extensionBuilder and see that we need to change extension suffixes to "lcb". The extensionBuilder isn't working for me yet though. I can't load or test anything. I'll wait until the IDE commits are made and then try again next week.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - http://www.screensteps.com

Levure Application Framework: https://github.com/trevordevore/levure
LiveCode Resources for Developers: http://livecode.bluemangolearning.com

livecodeali
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:48 pm

Re: Setting some properties not working

Post by livecodeali » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:24 pm

Hi Trevor,

We figured out that this bug was specific to Mac and release mode, hopefully this was the configuration you were using when seeing it.

This is now awaiting merge.
http://quality.runrev.com/show_bug.cgi?id=14720

Ali

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Setting some properties not working

Post by trevordevore » Tue Mar 03, 2015 1:27 am

Ali - I just tested the develop build and it worked with the segmented control. I was on OS X.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - http://www.screensteps.com

Levure Application Framework: https://github.com/trevordevore/levure
LiveCode Resources for Developers: http://livecode.bluemangolearning.com

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode Builder”