Widget handling

Moderators: LCMark, LCfraser

Post Reply
wizard
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:00 pm

Widget handling

Post by wizard » Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:45 pm

Is there any documentation available that assumes no prior understanding of widgets and provides a step-by-step guide of how to create a widget and then incorporate that into a stack? If I search the documentation within the IDE for the word widget I do not come up with anything. The current user guide available within the IDE is V19 of 2010.11.09 and the release notes are for 6.0.1

To really be of help with this alpha we really need a guide - nothing special - that takes someone through the expected steps.

benjibeaumont
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:31 am

Re: Widget handling

Post by benjibeaumont » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:42 am

Hi Wizard,

There is a beginners guide in the new documentation stack:

1) From the menubar select "dictionary"
2) At the top you'll notice two tabs, "API" and "Guides" - Select "Guides"
3) The browser object will take a moment to load
4) In the top left corner of the guides page you'll see a pulldown, select "Extending LiveCode"
RESULT: This is a step by step beginners guide to creating an installing an extension

We plan to add fast links to the guides from the help menu in upcomming builds to make the experience simpler for new users.

Warm regards,

Ben
Ben Beaumont | Runtime Revolution

Mikey
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: Widget handling

Post by Mikey » Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:35 pm

Don't forget, that until they fix 14501, you have to open the dictionary, then close it, then reopen it.

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Widget handling

Post by trevordevore » Wed Feb 11, 2015 7:48 pm

Mikey - I just resize the dictionary and then it works.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - http://www.screensteps.com

Levure Application Framework: https://github.com/trevordevore/levure
LiveCode Resources for Developers: http://livecode.bluemangolearning.com

Mikey
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: Widget handling

Post by Mikey » Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:33 pm

So the tabs aren't visible at the top, then you resize the window and the tabs show? That's an interesting development...

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Widget handling

Post by trevordevore » Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:37 pm

Yes. I'm on OS X.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - http://www.screensteps.com

Levure Application Framework: https://github.com/trevordevore/levure
LiveCode Resources for Developers: http://livecode.bluemangolearning.com

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode Builder”