Extensions Builder window not populating

LiveCode Builder is a language for extending LiveCode's capabilities, creating new object types as Widgets, and libraries that access lower-level APIs in OSes, applications, and DLLs.

Moderators: LCMark, LCfraser

Post Reply
pthirkell
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:47 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Extensions Builder window not populating

Post by pthirkell » Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:33 pm

I am very excited about Widgets in LC 8 and dp 3 is a great advance for people like me just learning the ropes. When I open the Tools -> Extension Builder window, and then click on the "extensions" pop-up, nothing happens and I therefore can't see any listed of the extensions already loaded. Is this just me or do others have the same issue?

Thanks!

bman46
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 3:23 am

Re: Extensions Builder window not populating

Post by bman46 » Fri Aug 28, 2015 3:26 pm

The solution for me was quitting the program and re opening it, it that does not work look in object>new control or object> new widget and all of the items are in those tabs

(I use mac so it may vary from windows exe.)

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4016
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Extensions Builder window not populating

Post by bn » Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:24 pm

Hi pthirkell,

if you want to look at widget code an build from there the extension builder is the place. But it has not the "built-in" extensions in its pop-up. Only the ones you load by clicking on the folder icon on the top-right and then choose a

xyz.lcb file
widgetsInAppBundle.png

you could drag a widget folder from your app bundle (on Mac right-click on Livecode8 DP3 and choose show content, on Windows something similar) to the desktop and inspect the xyz.lcb file in the folder. You can click on script and the script will open in an external text editor. The recommended one is Atom, which is free and has a module for livecode builder (livecode script is also supported) On a Mac you could also use TextWrangler/BBEdit.

You will not be able to test the widget though, unless you rename everything, since it is already installed.

Have a look at Trevor DeVore's blog

http://www.bluemangolearning.com/liveco ... er-widget/

where he explains how he did a slider-widget. And more.

You could use that to rebuild that for yourself and see what happens.

Currently it is still a lot of trial and error, but it is a lot of fun and I think widgets are a huge thing.

Kind regards
Bernd

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4016
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Extensions Builder window not populating

Post by bn » Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:02 pm

Also you might want to check out

https://livecode.com/write-a-widget-in-8-steps/

That is how I started, I just copied the code from the blog to a script (in Atom) and it works in DP3. Just watch out for curly quotes in
public handler OnCreate()

put "Hello World" into mText
setBubbleColor(“blue”)

end handler
they have to be straight quotes.

Kind regards
Bernd

pthirkell
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:47 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Extensions Builder window not populating

Post by pthirkell » Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:14 am

Thanks Bernd ... this is very helpful indeed!

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode Builder”