Rev 4.0 - stack does not open

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
bsouthuk
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:25 pm

Rev 4.0 - stack does not open

Post by bsouthuk » Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:08 pm

Hi wonder if someone can help

I have developed an application in rev studio and selling at as monthly licenses to my customers. They access my application on the web and i've encountered a problem.

For some reason my stacks are not opening when you select a button. if you go to http://www.qglogin.co.uk/QG.php and click on the O2 button could you see if it works on your system?

Im experiencing problems on some laptops that are on Vista where the stack just will not open. However on PCs, older ones using XP the stacks open fine.

Whats more strange is that the stack opened on my Vista laptop using Firefox but would not open using internet Explorer. So downlaoded the rev plug in again and now neither work!

What I do know is there is nothing wrong with my RunRev Studio application settings so there must be a setting on vista laptops that need changing? Could anybody help?

Thanks

Daniel

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5132
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Rev 4.0 - stack does not open

Post by Mark » Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:17 am

Hi Daniel,

There might be a problem with opening a different stack in the browser window.

If you are referencing the stack by its short name, you need to make sure that it is a substack of the stack that is currently open. Otherwise, Rev won't find it.

If you are referencing the stack by its filename, you need to provide the url to the stack: http://www.domain.com/path/to/stack.rev

I have had similar problems, even though my target stack was a substack of the currently open stack. I have decided to use multiple cards rather than multiple stacks and thus worked around the problem.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

bsouthuk
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:25 pm

Re: Rev 4.0 - stack does not open

Post by bsouthuk » Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:47 am

Hi Mark

Thanks very much for your response.

The stacks i'm trying to open are substacks so they should open. They open fine on XP machines and Revolution have advised me of problems with Vista and Windows 7 machines.

The problem with multiple cards is that users of my application must be able to view more than one window at the same time - multiple cards will not allow this.

I think it is a case of Revolution hurrying up and fixing the problem. I dont understand why they have released 4.0 officially when such a basic function does not work. The rev plugin i downloaded a few weeks back worked fine on Firefox but when i've downloaded and installed the latest plugin, substacks are not opening with firefox either.

Very strange

Daniel

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3207
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Rev 4.0 - stack does not open

Post by bn » Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:29 pm

Daniel,
this might pertain to your problem:
http://jacque.on-rev.com/codebits/dualrevlets.irev
Jacqueline shows and explains how to display two stacks on a webpage at the same time and that they communicate with each other.
Maybe not exactly what you want but maybe a workaround.

I tried this and works for me in Safari/Mac.
http://berndniggemann.on-rev.com/stackandsub/
This is just a test, and that is how it looks.
The name of the main stack is "doppelstack" and the substack is called "unterdoppelt"
regards
Bernd

bernd59
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:21 pm

Re: Rev 4.0 - stack does not open

Post by bernd59 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:51 pm

Hi
this may be a related problem:
I implemented a date check in my main stack in preopenstack in order to set a date limit for using my free app.

But: That is a trap for myself as developer:
How to access source code of the main stack if the stack does not open in the LiveCode-IDE after that date
(for example if I have forgotten to comment it out or to update the date before the critical date occurs) ?

If the main stack does not open in IDE I have no chance to access the source code of the stack isn't it?

Best
Bernd

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3207
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Rev 4.0 - stack does not open

Post by bn » Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:09 pm

HI Bernd,

you could try to lock messages. In the IDE in the Development Menu you have the option to check "Supress Messages". Then try to open your stack. Depending on how you have implemented your time limit it might open.

If it does not you can look at a .livecode stack in any text editor, as long as it is not password protected. You could at least extract your scripts.

A third option would be to change your system clock on your computer to a suitable date and see if your stack opens.

Kind regards

Bernd

Klaus
Posts: 9968
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Rev 4.0 - stack does not open

Post by Klaus » Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:10 pm

Hi Bernd,

in menu "Development" check "Suppress Messages", open your stack and chnage the preopenstack script to:

Code: Select all

...
## Do stuff only in standalone:
if the environment <> "development then
  ## do your data checking here...
end if
...
Save the stack and uncheck "Suppress Messages" again.
This way, no message (like preopenstack etc.) is being sent to your stack when you open it.


Best

Klaus

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”