What is needed to be able to test for iOS?

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5581
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

What is needed to be able to test for iOS?

Post by dunbarx » Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:09 pm

Playing around with widgets, and thinking about mobile.

I have an indy license, which I do not use, just having it to help support LC. But isn't that enough to be able to open the iOS simulator? The "test" menuItems in menu "Development" are disabled in my v.8 setup.

And I thought that even in the Community version these would be available, as long as the source code was as well. Is it that I am missing other development components. like Xcode?

Craig Newman

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2253
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: What is needed to be able to test for iOS?

Post by jmburnod » Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:21 pm

Hi Craig,
Is it that I am missing other development components. like Xcode?
Yes, I believe simulator is a part of xCode (I always test on real device)
Best
Jean-Marc

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: What is needed to be able to test for iOS?

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:42 am

Hi Craig,

Yes, you do need Xcode, as the iOS simulator is part of Xcode, as Jean-Marc said.

The version of Xcode you need depends on the version of your MacOS and the version of LC. If I remember correctly, for 8.1.10 it is:

Xcode 7.2 if you are on OSX 10.10
Xcode 8.2 if you are on OSX 10.11
Xcode 9.2 if you are on MacOS 10.12
Xcode 9.3 if you are on MacOS 10.13

You can download older versions of Xcode from Apple's downloads page (requires login with your Apple ID):

http://developer.apple.com/download/more/

Note that the first time you open Xcode, you will be asked to install Xcode's command line tools. Choose "Yes", as these tools are needed when building an iOS standalone.

Kind regards,
Panos
--

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5581
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: What is needed to be able to test for iOS?

Post by dunbarx » Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:12 pm

Thakns, Panos.

What if you are stuck in OS 10.9?

Craig

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: What is needed to be able to test for iOS?

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:30 pm

Hi Craig,

If you are on OSX 10.9, you can use Xcode 6.2, but you will be able to deploy only to iOS simulator (and not to physical device).

Best,
Panos
--

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5581
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: What is needed to be able to test for iOS?

Post by dunbarx » Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:15 pm

Panos.

Well, I realized it is time to move on, so I updated to Sierra.

Thanks,

Craig

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”