Open a LC document using a standalone

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Klaus
Posts: 10097
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Open a LC document using a standalone

Post by Klaus » Wed May 09, 2018 1:18 pm

jmburnod wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 1:07 pm
Hi Klaus,
I'm a little confused about copy files tab where I can read:
non-stack files in the application
Kind regards
Jean-Marc
Doesn't matter, also works with Livecode files. :-)

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4446
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Open a LC document using a standalone

Post by jacque » Wed May 09, 2018 9:25 pm

maxs wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 1:00 am
Hi Klaus,

Yes, This is how I originally had it. The stack.livecode ("Testb") was included in the Splash.livecode ("Testa") via the "Copy files" tab , before making the standalone

So the Splash.livecode standalone would create a stack.livecode in the documents folder that was completely empty.

The url("binfile:...) into url ("binfile:...) only made an empty copy of a file.

SO why doesn't the work? Why is the file empty? Did you see may examples files. It seems I followed your directions completely but the file is still empty.
Densely yours, Max
Most likely the file paths are incorrect, as Richard noted. It sounds like you have the setup correct:

StackA will be the standalone, with all standalone options filled out in Standalone Settings.
StackB is the data stack to be included with the build. It is listed in the Copy Files pane of Standalone Settings.

When LC builds the standalone, anything in Copy Files is put into a folder named "resources" which the standalone builder creates. The correct path to that folder and its file is: specialFolderPath("resources") & "/stackB.livecode"

Since files can't be saved inside the application folder, you need to copy StackB to a writeable location. That can be the desktop ("specialFolderPath("desktop")) or documents, or some other places. Let's assume you want it to go to Documents: specialFolderPath("documents")

So the copy mechanism is:

Code: Select all

put specialFolderPath("resources") & "/stackB.livecode" into tSourcePath
put specialFolderPath("documents") & "/stackB.livecode" into tDestPath
put ("binfile:" & tSourcePath) into ("binfile:" & tDestPath)
Note that special folder paths are lower-case, and the whole path structure must be inside parentheses so it will evaluate correctly.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

maxs
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: Open a LC document using a standalone

Post by maxs » Thu May 10, 2018 12:14 am

Hi Jacque

I'm so impressed with myself that I came to the same conclusion today. It may be an incorrect path or name. Now I will try testing it out. Thanks, Max

Max

maxs
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: Open a LC document using a standalone

Post by maxs » Thu May 10, 2018 1:29 am

Breakthrough:

I did it.

Here are the 4 major errors I made:

The resource file name needed to be the same as the document file name. (I had the Standalone file as the app resource name. I never understood that they are basically the same file. )
There were uppercase letters.
I needed to delete ".livecode" from the file name of the embedded resource stack.
I could not find any documentation on this in the Livecode library.

Thanks to Jacque and Klaus for following through with me. This was really a difficult process for me to understand.

maxs
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: Open a LC document using a standalone

Post by maxs » Thu May 10, 2018 1:39 am

postscript

THe forums have become the basic lifesaver for my most urgent problems I have making app, thanks to a few really kind people.

Nevertheless, it is insanely difficult to get clarifications of things when communication is not back and forth as easily as it is with talking or chatting.

I would gladly pay for the instant gratification of instant communication, if that ever became available. But I can understand why people giving help prefer it this way.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4446
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Open a LC document using a standalone

Post by jacque » Thu May 10, 2018 6:22 am

Bravo! So glad you got it working. When you're first starting there's a lot to learn, but soon things will feel commonplace. The "eureka" moment at the end of a long struggle can be a giddy reward though.

One advantage of written explanations is that others who follow can find answers. But I do understand that it's often easier to talk through issues where clarifications can be more immediate. Many of the old-timers here would probably be available for consulting work if it comes to that.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4446
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Open a LC document using a standalone

Post by jacque » Thu May 10, 2018 5:44 pm

You know, looking at my example script I see that I omitted the URL keyword. Did it work as written? It should have been:

put url ("binfile:" & tSourcePath) into url ("binfile:" & tDestPath)

We all have blackouts occasionally I guess. You can't trust anyone these days. :)
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”