opening 2 cards

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
marksmithhfx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:48 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba

opening 2 cards

Post by marksmithhfx » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:11 am

I'd like to try something I've never done before, and I'm not sure how to get started. I'd like to store examples of a number of custom field definitions on a card, and then have that card open while I develop and copy and paste objects from this "object library" card to the application I am working on. To me it doesn't sound much different than having the script or property window open while you work (you can have both open on the screen at once, with your application open) but so far my experience with LC is that whenever I open a new card it doesn't open in a new window, it just replaces the card that I have open. That won't really work in this case. I'd like to have the "object library" card open (similar to having the tools palette open) while I work, so it's handy.

Any suggestions as to how to get this to work? I guess, now that I think about, what I am saying is I want to have my own customs tool palette open with custom field objects on it that I can just drag into my application window. Is there a tutorial around on how to develop something like that?

Many thanks
macOS 10.13.6 High Sierra, Xcode 9.4, LC 9.0.1, iOS 11.4.1
Targets: Mac, iOS

Klaus
Posts: 10325
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: opening 2 cards

Post by Klaus » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:59 am

Hi Mark,

bad luck, a stack = a window and only one card per window!


Best

Klaus

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6145
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: opening 2 cards

Post by FourthWorld » Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:22 am

If you want it in a new window, it's gotta be in a new window. Cards are bound to a stack, one stack per window.

Is there a reason this couldn't work as a substack?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5526
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: opening 2 cards

Post by dunbarx » Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:58 am

What everyone said.

So can't you "rethink" your issue about having a card in the same stack open in a new window? In other words, what is the difference? That definitions"" card NEED not be part of the stack, right?

I have often cut through a lot of convoluted development (and often trashed a lot of work, happily, though, in the end) by just starting over with a little new thinking.

Craig Newman

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1760
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: opening 2 cards

Post by [-hh] » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:45 am

Just for fun:
Of course it is possible to look at two cards of the same stack at the same time.

Simply open a new instance of LiveCode and open the same stack.
As long as you don't save it with the second instance there will be no problem.
shiftLock happens

marksmithhfx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:48 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba

Re: opening 2 cards

Post by marksmithhfx » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:38 pm

Good suggestion Richard, thanks. I'm working on it. Haven't got it finished yet but will let you know how it goes.

Mark
macOS 10.13.6 High Sierra, Xcode 9.4, LC 9.0.1, iOS 11.4.1
Targets: Mac, iOS

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”