Change the textSize in the variable pane of the SE

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5614
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Change the textSize in the variable pane of the SE

Post by dunbarx » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:26 am

One can change the textSize of the script section in the LC preferences, which allows one to see more lines of code at one extreme, or to make that area easier to read at the other.

Is there a way to change the variable pane as well? I have the upper section set to size 8. It looks like the lower section is 18. I would love to see more lines down there as well. Saves a lot of scrolling.

I would have thought that changing one would also change the other.

Craig Newman
Last edited by dunbarx on Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2788
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Change the textSize in the variable pane of the SE

Post by richmond62 » Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:41 pm

Well, it took me a few minutes to think about that one:

If you open any old stack you have to hand and open the scriptEditor for any object,

and then open the properties palettes you should be
able to select the stack "revNewScriptEditor 1" and then
the group "Variables"; and then you can mess around with the textSize, font, and so to your
heart's content.

Once you have what you want, save the thing via the Message Box:

save stack "revNewScriptEditor 1"

HOWEVER this won't 'stick' beyond that instance of the scriptEditor.

Neither will doing the same via script:
scriptEditor2.png
Trying to do that to the stack "revNewScriptEditor" just throws a "bluey".

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5614
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Change the textSize in the variable pane of the SE

Post by dunbarx » Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:22 pm

Richmond.

This is similar to the thread about changing the textColor of the various elements in the SE, such as comments, keywords, etc.

The changes do not stick. I still have not played with Bogs' recipe for that, but when I do, I bet the same procedure will be applicable to this as well.

Craig

bogs
Posts: 2376
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Change the textSize in the variable pane of the SE

Post by bogs » Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:03 pm

That is probably true Craig, although honestly I haven't messed with it much at this point.

Funny thing I found, since (through the generosity of many, including Richmond there) I now have an almost complete history set of RR-Lc IDEs from the start, the earliest of them have exactly what you are talking about in that thread about coloring text, right from the script editor preferences. You could not only color text that is colored now (commands, keywords, functions, etc.), but you could literally add words you wanted colored.

Of course, that doesn't help with this topic, since the debugger wasn't integrated with the script editor until the later 2.x part of the run, and when it was apparently a lot of other nice features got thrown out for some reason.
Selection_004.png
RR2.2.1 Linux express edition
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”