Select text on text field

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

shaosean
Posts: 907
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:53 am

Re: Select text on text field

Post by shaosean » Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:43 am

Does the mouseEnter event get fired on iOS?

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2720
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Select text on text field

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:23 am

I don't know, and I don't know how to find out . . .

YET!

I am currently downloading Xcode 4.6.3 onto my 2006 Intel Polycarbonate iMac running 10.7.5 . . .

This runs an iPhone/iPad simulator running iOS 6.1

But I don't think I'm going to get very far as I don't want to pay Apple just to test this feature.

The fact that prior to Xcode 7 one could not develop iOS apps on one's own desktop machine without
forking out money to Apple stinks to high heaven.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2720
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Select text on text field

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 1:05 pm

Having downloaded Xcode 7.2.1 (which does NOT work with Mac OS 10.7.5)
and put it in my Applications folder, the LiveCode 8.1.4
standalone settings CAN use the iOS 9.2 SDK inside the Xcode 7.1.2 app!
Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 3.06.39 pm.png
Don't always believe what you see!
Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 3.06.39 pm.png (10.42 KiB) Viewed 739 times
However it is still throwing up messages about Provisioning Profiles (which SHOULD be FREE).

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Select text on text field

Post by simon.schvartzman » Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:06 pm

Folks, many thanks for all of you that help me fixing the problem.

As it looks like a bug to me I will go ahead and open it as such.

Regards.
Simon

PBH
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada. ex.UK
Contact:

Re: Select text on text field

Post by PBH » Sun Jul 16, 2017 3:23 pm

Please post the bug number, it will be interesting to see what the LiveCode team's view on this is.

I also found this works, in the IDE at least;

Code: Select all

on openField -- when clicking in the field, select all its text
   wait 1 with messages
   select text of the target
end openField
Paul

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Select text on text field

Post by simon.schvartzman » Sun Jul 16, 2017 3:37 pm

Bug number is 20097 and can be find here

http://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=20097
Simon

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”