Page 1 of 1

revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:20 pm
by Simon
Hello,
Twice now I've had the Revolution stack revCursors suddenly appear in my stack. I get the warning message "A stack revCursors is already in memory".
Probably something I've done, but how do I get rid of it?

Thanks,
Simon

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:33 pm
by Mark
Simon,

When exactly do you get this error messages?
If you type the following in the message box and press enter

put the substacks of stack <the name of your mainstack>

what exactly do you get? Are you sure there is a duplicate of revCursors?

If there appears to be a duplicate, you can remove it with

delete stack revCursors of stack <the name of your mainstack>

Best,

Mark

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:11 pm
by Simon
Hello Mark,
I get the warning message on opening of the stack. You know "two stacks with identical names".

put the substacks of stack myStack gives me:
Message execution error:
Error description: Chunk: can't find stack

But I can see the stack in the application browser. I'll wait till I hear from you again before I run the delete.
Thanks again,
Simon

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:39 pm
by Mark
Simon,

Why myStack? You can't get that error in return if your mainstack exists and is loaded in memory.

Best,

Mark

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:33 pm
by Simon
Hi Mark,
Not sure I follow you.

put the substacks of stack <the name of your mainstack>
My mainstack is called myStack
And the stack is up and running so it is in memory.

And the full text of the warning is:
"A stack "revCursors" is already in memory. The Revolution UI does not distinguish stacks which have identical names, so editing these stack files while both are in memory could result in data loss."
Other thoughts?

Regards,
Simon[/quote]

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:42 pm
by Mark
Simon,

Something is wrong, but you know that already. If you enter in the message box

put the substacks of stack "myStack"

then you can't get the error

Message execution error:
Error description: Chunk: can't find stack

What do you get if you type in the message box

put (there is a stack "myStack")

You must always put quotes around object names. Maybe, this is the source of your problem.

Best,

Mark

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:56 pm
by Simon
Hi Mark,
OK the quotes worked, now I get:
altBrowser
Untitled 1
revCursors

It really is there!

Thanks,
Simon

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:01 pm
by Mark
Hi Simon,

Why do you have a stack called AltBrowser? That sounds confusing, because there is also an external called AltBrowser.

I think you can safely delete that stack using the syntax

Code: Select all

lock messages
delete stack "revCursors" of stack "myStack"
save stack "myStack"
unlock messages
I'd lock messages, just to be sure that nothing happens between deleting and saving.

If you happen to lose your cursors after this, simply quit and restart Revolution and check again if the stack is there or not.

Best,

Mark

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:28 pm
by Simon
Thanks Mark,
That got rid of revCursors.

Still have no idea why the stack showed up in the fist place.

Regards,
Simon

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:17 pm
by cowtrax3
i see this thrread is from over 10 years ago but i am getting it now. when i load my stack it says "revCursors already in memory". any idea why and how do i get rid of it? thanks. Mike

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:27 pm
by Klaus
Hi Mike,

didn't you read the whole thread?
Marks solution is still working, give it a try!


Best

Klaus

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:45 pm
by FourthWorld
More interesting than resolving the issue would be finding out how it occurs. That stack should normally only be copied into a stack file when building a standalone. This should never happen with your work copies. A recipe would be helpful.

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:44 pm
by MaxV
It happen to me too.
I was using more than 100 queries with revDatabaseColumnNamed and I didn't close the cursors.
Maybe this is the issue.

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:47 pm
by MaxV
Oh no, the solution proposed doesn't work anymore, I got:

Code: Select all

Message execution error:
Error description: Chunk: can't find stack
Hint: 
Both stacks exists (mainstack to save and revCursors)

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:26 am
by KimD
I also just received a complimentary revCursors stack.

Marks 16 Sep 2007 solution worked fine for me.