revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Post by Simon » Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:20 pm

Hello,
Twice now I've had the Revolution stack revCursors suddenly appear in my stack. I get the warning message "A stack revCursors is already in memory".
Probably something I've done, but how do I get rid of it?

Thanks,
Simon

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5132
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:33 pm

Simon,

When exactly do you get this error messages?
If you type the following in the message box and press enter

put the substacks of stack <the name of your mainstack>

what exactly do you get? Are you sure there is a duplicate of revCursors?

If there appears to be a duplicate, you can remove it with

delete stack revCursors of stack <the name of your mainstack>

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Post by Simon » Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:11 pm

Hello Mark,
I get the warning message on opening of the stack. You know "two stacks with identical names".

put the substacks of stack myStack gives me:
Message execution error:
Error description: Chunk: can't find stack

But I can see the stack in the application browser. I'll wait till I hear from you again before I run the delete.
Thanks again,
Simon

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5132
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:39 pm

Simon,

Why myStack? You can't get that error in return if your mainstack exists and is loaded in memory.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Post by Simon » Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:33 pm

Hi Mark,
Not sure I follow you.

put the substacks of stack <the name of your mainstack>
My mainstack is called myStack
And the stack is up and running so it is in memory.

And the full text of the warning is:
"A stack "revCursors" is already in memory. The Revolution UI does not distinguish stacks which have identical names, so editing these stack files while both are in memory could result in data loss."
Other thoughts?

Regards,
Simon[/quote]

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5132
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:42 pm

Simon,

Something is wrong, but you know that already. If you enter in the message box

put the substacks of stack "myStack"

then you can't get the error

Message execution error:
Error description: Chunk: can't find stack

What do you get if you type in the message box

put (there is a stack "myStack")

You must always put quotes around object names. Maybe, this is the source of your problem.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Post by Simon » Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:56 pm

Hi Mark,
OK the quotes worked, now I get:
altBrowser
Untitled 1
revCursors

It really is there!

Thanks,
Simon

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5132
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:01 pm

Hi Simon,

Why do you have a stack called AltBrowser? That sounds confusing, because there is also an external called AltBrowser.

I think you can safely delete that stack using the syntax

Code: Select all

lock messages
delete stack "revCursors" of stack "myStack"
save stack "myStack"
unlock messages
I'd lock messages, just to be sure that nothing happens between deleting and saving.

If you happen to lose your cursors after this, simply quit and restart Revolution and check again if the stack is there or not.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Post by Simon » Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:28 pm

Thanks Mark,
That got rid of revCursors.

Still have no idea why the stack showed up in the fist place.

Regards,
Simon

cowtrax3
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:34 am

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Post by cowtrax3 » Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:17 pm

i see this thrread is from over 10 years ago but i am getting it now. when i load my stack it says "revCursors already in memory". any idea why and how do i get rid of it? thanks. Mike

Klaus
Posts: 10472
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Post by Klaus » Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:27 pm

Hi Mike,

didn't you read the whole thread?
Marks solution is still working, give it a try!


Best

Klaus

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6215
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Post by FourthWorld » Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:45 pm

More interesting than resolving the issue would be finding out how it occurs. That stack should normally only be copied into a stack file when building a standalone. This should never happen with your work copies. A recipe would be helpful.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

MaxV
Posts: 1541
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Post by MaxV » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:44 pm

It happen to me too.
I was using more than 100 queries with revDatabaseColumnNamed and I didn't close the cursors.
Maybe this is the issue.
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

MaxV
Posts: 1541
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: revCursors magically attaches to my stacks

Post by MaxV » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:47 pm

Oh no, the solution proposed doesn't work anymore, I got:

Code: Select all

Message execution error:
Error description: Chunk: can't find stack
Hint: 
Both stacks exists (mainstack to save and revCursors)
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”