Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
mrcoollion
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Post by mrcoollion » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:28 am

Is there a reason for the fact that i cannot copy paste a card in the project browser anymore. I used to be able to do this but but option is now graded out.

Regards,

Paul

bogs
Posts: 2063
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Post by bogs » Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:06 pm

Which version?
Image

mrcoollion
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Post by mrcoollion » Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:45 pm

Running LiveCode Indy 9.0.1 on Windows 10

In a card i can copy and past one or multiple objects, but in the project browser i am not able to copy a card or an object within a card and past it with right mouse-button. Option is graded-out.

regards,

Paul

bogs
Posts: 2063
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Post by bogs » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:56 pm

Hm. This is the 6.5.x project browser, I don't think I ever saw copying a card in the pb so I verified that here (linux) -
Selection_003.png
Copy card ... ?
Selection_003.png (28.41 KiB) Viewed 162 times
Having said that though, I never noticed any problems copying objects, so that may be something.
Selection_004.png
Copy object ...
Selection_004.png (26.32 KiB) Viewed 162 times
Image

mrcoollion
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Post by mrcoollion » Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:20 pm

I might be mistaken. Tried to see if in LC 7.01 this option was available and it is not.
Still I would like to be able easy to clone a card so I am able to use a card as a template to create more cards that are only mildly different.

Any idea's ?

bogs
Posts: 2063
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Post by bogs » Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:46 pm

Well, off the top of my head the easiest way to do what you want (if I get it) would be to set up a template stack/card, then start using it. But that may be over-simplifying it, I'm sure you would have thought of it already.
Image

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4559
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Post by jacque » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:20 pm

mrcoollion wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:20 pm
I might be mistaken. Tried to see if in LC 7.01 this option was available and it is not.
Still I would like to be able easy to clone a card so I am able to use a card as a template to create more cards that are only mildly different.

Any idea's ?
You already had it. :) "Clone this cd". You'll have to use the message box though.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

mrcoollion
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cannot copy paste a card in the Project Browser

Post by mrcoollion » Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:08 am

Thanks J,

Using the messagebox i did not think of.

:D

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”