Threefold problem

Discussion about LiveCode Global Jam events and activities

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1553
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Threefold problem

Post by [-hh] » Fri May 23, 2014 12:24 pm

..........
Last edited by [-hh] on Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shiftLock happens

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Threefold problem

Post by bn » Fri May 23, 2014 12:44 pm

Hi Hermann,

"segments" is now a reserved word of LiveCode 7, you use it as a custom property.

You might want to change that.

Kind regards
Bernd

hanson
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:55 am

Re: Threefold problem

Post by hanson » Fri May 23, 2014 1:01 pm

Hi Hermann,

indeed, there seems to be an issue there. Try updating the array for 7.0, as can confirm that "segments" is now a reserved word, as Bernd said.

Have created bug report: http://www.quality.runrev.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12495 so that we can look into the issue for 6.7.0


Kind Regards,

Hanson

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1553
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Threefold problem

Post by [-hh] » Fri May 23, 2014 1:05 pm

..........
Last edited by [-hh] on Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shiftLock happens

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Threefold problem

Post by bn » Fri May 23, 2014 1:13 pm

Hi Hermann,
I learned: 'segment' is now reserved and currently a synonym for 'word'. Until now I thought that linguists use it for 'atomic parts' (would here be vowels or consonants). I used it graphical because I do here kind of classical 7-segment-display.
actually the real lesson is to prepend your custom properties with some prefix, makes code easier to read and keeps you out of trouble in a situation like this :)
some use "c" and some use "u". uSegment is very unlikely to become a reserved word, nor cSegment.

Kind regards
Bernd

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1553
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Threefold problem

Post by [-hh] » Fri May 23, 2014 1:34 pm

..........
Last edited by [-hh] on Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shiftLock happens

hanson
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:55 am

Re: Threefold problem

Post by hanson » Fri May 23, 2014 1:39 pm

Hi Hermann,

I have also created a bug report to address the truncation issue in the Error Dialogue. This is being addressed here: http://www.quality.runrev.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12496


Kind Regards,

Hanson

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Threefold problem

Post by bn » Fri May 23, 2014 1:43 pm

Hi Hermann,

I am looking at windowShapes in 6.7.dp4 with another stack and there seems to be trouble in drawing the windowshape. It is only at certain sizes that artifacts appear. No idea yet what the specifics of this are.

set the "Kind regards" of the uBernd of this forum to true

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1553
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Threefold problem

Post by [-hh] » Fri May 23, 2014 2:02 pm

..........
Last edited by [-hh] on Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shiftLock happens

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Threefold problem

Post by bn » Fri May 23, 2014 2:23 pm

Hi Herman,

could you check your stack with 6.7 dp4. I notice on MacOS 10.6.8 that the cursor vanishes when it is over the stack, not in WindowShapeMode. It shows in the window title and outside of the stack.
Do you also see this?
Kind regards
Bernd

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1553
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Threefold problem

Post by [-hh] » Fri May 23, 2014 2:45 pm

..........
Last edited by [-hh] on Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shiftLock happens

hanson
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:55 am

Re: Threefold problem

Post by hanson » Fri May 23, 2014 2:59 pm

Hi Hermann and Bernd,

we have a bug report that seems to match the issue you are describing here with the cursor disappearing over a stack in 6.7 dp 4: http://www.quality.runrev.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12467


Kind Regards,

Hanson

WaltBrown
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: NE USA

Re: Threefold problem

Post by WaltBrown » Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:40 am

I also see cursor disappearing sporadically in 5.5.5 but am unable to reproduce it. There is also an earlier bug report: http://www.quality.runrev.com/show_bug.cgi?id=11026.
Walt Brown
Omnis traductor traditor

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode Global Jam”