LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Discussion about LiveCode Global Jam events and activities

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
sefrojones
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:46 pm

LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by sefrojones » Fri May 23, 2014 12:27 am

So I just fired up LC 7 DP 3 to test some stacks, and I got some major functionality issues, at least in the Windows 7 64 bit / Android Development department:

[*]Attempting to launch after installation throws an "environment failed to initialize" error. open as administrator will then open it after you close the error dialog.

[*]"open recent" sub-menu does not open selected stack (or any)

[*]Plug-in sub-menu does not open plugins

[*]Unable to select a Test Target for Android testing

[*]The cursor is (again) out of alignment in the script editor

None of these are an issue in 6.5.2, 6.6.2 (rc3), or 6.6.2 (rc4) which are the versions I have been mainly using as of late.


--Sefro

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3900
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by Simon » Fri May 23, 2014 12:45 am

Win 7 LC 7.0 dp3
[*]Attempting to launch after installation throws an "environment failed to initialize" error. open as administrator will then open it after you close the error dialog.
Confirmed on install, but runs correctly after that
[*]"open recent" sub-menu does not open selected stack (or any)
Confirmed
[*]Plug-in sub-menu does not open plugins
Confirmed
[*]Unable to select a Test Target for Android testing
Unconfirmed, was able to select test target but receive an error on build "unable to build app for testing: i/o error" I swear I add a bug report on this but can't find it.
Edit; found it 12061, they say dp3 should work in community and I guess commercial will be dp4
[*]The cursor is (again) out of alignment in the script editor
I don't see this, do you use a font other than "default"?

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

sefrojones
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:46 pm

Re: LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by sefrojones » Fri May 23, 2014 1:00 am

Simon wrote:
[*]Unable to select a Test Target for Android testing
Unconfirmed, was able to select test target but receive an error on build "unable to build app for testing: i/o error" I swear I add a bug report on this but can't find it.
Retested after restarting the android emulator, and I am now getting the i/o error as well.
Simon wrote:
[*]The cursor is (again) out of alignment in the script editor
I don't see this, do you use a font other than "default"?

Simon
I have never changed the font in the script editor, but I remember experiencing this issue a few months back, and it being fixed in an update, this is identical behavior to that bug.
I can't seem to find the post that originally covered this bug, but I will add as an edit when I do find it.

--Sefro

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 838
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by dave.kilroy » Fri May 23, 2014 1:44 am

Regarding cursor/carat out out of alignment - is this the thread you were looking for? http://forums.runrev.com/viewtopic.php? ... or#p101452

sefrojonesGAda40 wrote:
The cursor is (again) out of alignment in the script editor
I don't see this, do you use a font other than "default"?
Simon
I have never changed the font in the script editor, but I remember experiencing this issue a few months back, and it being fixed in an update, this is identical behavior to that bug.
I can't seem to find the post that originally covered this bug, but I will add as an edit when I do find it.
--Sefro
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

sefrojones
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:46 pm

Re: LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by sefrojones » Fri May 23, 2014 2:21 am

That's the one. Thanks Dave!

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 838
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by dave.kilroy » Fri May 23, 2014 2:49 am

Ah ok - in that case you might be interested in this bug report http://quality.runrev.com/show_bug.cgi?id=11980
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

sefrojones
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:46 pm

Re: LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by sefrojones » Fri May 23, 2014 10:54 am

So I just tested some stacks with 7.0 dp4, and it seems all of these issues are resolved. (Found a new one, but will post in a new thread for dp4)

Peregrine
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:33 pm
Location: Always changing!
Contact:

Re: LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by Peregrine » Sat May 24, 2014 1:29 am

[*]The cursor is (again) out of alignment in the script editor
I can confirm this with LC 7.0.0 dp5 on Mac OS X 10.9.3
I am using a non-default font in the script editor.
Charles Buchwald
xTalk coding since 1990
Developer of lcResTool and lcMover and other developer tools
http://charlesbuchwald.com/downloads/

sefrojones
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:46 pm

Re: LiveCode 7 DP3 - Windows/Android Problems

Post by sefrojones » Fri May 30, 2014 10:53 pm

I'm still getting the "environment failed to initialize" error on install with 7.0 DP6,it then works fine when opened again. Is anyone aware of a bug report for this?

Thanks,
Sefro

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode Global Jam”