RevServer Clarification

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

cborn

RevServer Clarification

Post by cborn » Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:21 pm

I'm relatively new to LiveCode, but have been working it in steadily in the last year to develop audio and video recorder modules that are embedded into our course management system. Being able to create these revlets quickly in LiveCode, has been the single biggest win for us, as we are trying to replace commercial software that is failing us on campus.

However, the instability of the RevWeb plugin on Windows is really hurting us right now. We are a cross-platform campus, and are dedicated to providing equally available resources to both our Macintosh and our Windows clients. Although students have access to either platform in public labs all over campus, both students and professors are pushing us to make more services web-bases and equally accessible from both platforms.

So I'm wondering if I should explore RevServer, instead of using revlets? These modules record audio and/or webcam video to a local temp directory on the client computer. Then it is sent (along with a number of other params) to the course management server when they hit submit. If I were to try to use RevServer alongside our course management system, even embedding the code in those pages, would it work? Is RevServer as full featured as the regular development environment? Can it access externals? If it records audio, can it save directly to the server rather than having it on the client computer? And will it solve my platform problem? :?: