Can't get a border around a button

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3345
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by bn » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:07 pm

bogs wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 1:29 pm

Bernd, All of the graphics effects are already arrays, and like any array, you can set any individual key of that array. For example -

Code: Select all

set the outerGlow["color"] of button 1 to "red"
works just as well as putting a whole new array together :wink:
Thanks bogs, I always used arrays, but that is a good way to set individual properties.

Kind regards
Bernd

bogs
Posts: 4348
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by bogs » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:20 pm

Glad if it helps. I also want to make sure you understand I don't think there is anything wrong (with) creating your own arrays to do the same, but if you only need to change 1 setting, say 5 times, it is a lot less typing to just set it directly :wink:
Image

bogs
Posts: 4348
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by bogs » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:46 pm

Klaus wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:18 pm
Then when I tried to set the borderColor on the image, it didn't show (even with threeD set to false).
Please don't shoot the messenger, but to set/change the bordercolor of an image,
you need to set the bordercolor of the CARD the image is on. :?
Actually, not so much, but you do need the 3d set to 'true', not false. "At least in 6.5.2" or "YMMV in newer versions"
ksnip_imageBorderColor.png
North (and south) of the border...
Last edited by bogs on Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by richmond62 » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:50 pm

Actually, not so much, but you do need the 3d set to 'true', not false.
Dunno about that; certainly NOT round these parts (MacOS 10.14.6, LiveCode 9.5.0):
-
youveBeenFramed.png

bogs
Posts: 4348
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by bogs » Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:03 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:50 pm
Actually, not so much, but you do need the 3d set to 'true', not false.
Dunno about that; certainly NOT round these parts (MacOS 10.14.6, LiveCode 9.5.0):
I'll be happy to amend that to "at least in 6.5.2" or "YMMV in newer versions" :wink:
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by richmond62 » Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:14 pm

"at least in 6.5.2"
Why do I have a feeling that 6.5.2 is not really relevant round these parts any longer?

However, I do deploy 6.5.1 on a couple of iMac G5s I have running MacOS 10.4 and 10.5. 8)

bogs
Posts: 4348
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by bogs » Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:21 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:14 pm
Why do I have a feeling that 6.5.2 is not really relevant round these parts any longer?
Oh I dunno, I think in a thread that started 10 years ago, it could still be considered relevant :P
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by richmond62 » Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:29 pm

Surely only relevant to retro types . . .
-
spooky.jpg

bogs
Posts: 4348
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Can't get a border around a button

Post by bogs » Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:41 pm

Where did you dig up my picture? I thought that party shot was shredded long ago... :P
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”