Stack operations (bring to front, activate, etc...)

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
ale870
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:17 am
Contact:

Stack operations (bring to front, activate, etc...)

Post by ale870 » Mon Jul 05, 2010 11:02 am

Hello,

I need to make a couple of operations in RunRev, but I cannot find any function/message.

1) I need to open a stack and "force" it to arise on top of other RunRev windows. I know I can use "the systemWindow" property, but I don't want to use it, since it will "oblige" my form to stay always in front. I simply need to move it in front (but the users should be able to put it in back).

2) When a stack is open, how can I detect if the user activate/deactivate the form? Better: when the user click on another program (not RunRev program), my stack will be "deactivated". Then if the user click in the stack, such stack will be activated. I need to "grab" those messages.

Thank you for your help!
Runtime Revolution Widgets, tutorials, tips & tricks and more!
http://runrevwidgets.com/wiki

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Stack operations (bring to front, activate, etc...)

Post by Mark » Mon Jul 05, 2010 11:11 am

ale870,

Normaly, the "go" command brings a stack to front.

You will want to read about suspend, resume, suspendStack and resumeStack in the dictionary.

Best regards,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

ale870
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: Stack operations (bring to front, activate, etc...)

Post by ale870 » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:13 pm

Thank you (resume and resumeStack are the ones I was looking for!).

About "go": it seems sometimes the stack does not come in front. Is there any function to "force" it? In Delphi I use the function "BringToFront".
Runtime Revolution Widgets, tutorials, tips & tricks and more!
http://runrevwidgets.com/wiki

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Stack operations (bring to front, activate, etc...)

Post by Mark » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:24 pm

ale870,

Go should work. Is there anything non-standard about your stack?

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

ale870
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: Stack operations (bring to front, activate, etc...)

Post by ale870 » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:29 pm

the application I made is quite complex, I can say that, from my stack, I'm runnning an external main stack (not a substack).
Runtime Revolution Widgets, tutorials, tips & tricks and more!
http://runrevwidgets.com/wiki

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Stack operations (bring to front, activate, etc...)

Post by Mark » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:53 pm

Sorry, ale870 , but that's insufficient info. Is there anything about that stack that's different from a standard stack window? Can you say anything about those cases when the go command doesn't work as desired?

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

ale870
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: Stack operations (bring to front, activate, etc...)

Post by ale870 » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:58 pm

There is nothing "abnormal". But I will make a couple of tests to give you more info.
Thank you!
Runtime Revolution Widgets, tutorials, tips & tricks and more!
http://runrevwidgets.com/wiki

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”