Stu's test review software learing experience.

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

stuartls
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:59 pm
Contact:

Post by stuartls » Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:09 pm

Mark!

I appreciate the world out of your guidance! Well on my last page I already have a field that contains the number of wrong questions. So I have a counter for a loop so to speak! I learned from reading that "return" marks the end of the line. I'm going to put together a loop that goes to my field "WrongQuestions" and changes the various fonts of each line. I want to do this because I want the student to be able to print the list of wrong questions so they can look them up in the book. So I want the list that they print out to be very pleasing to the eye. I found in the documentation of the revolution website a "how to" on formating a page for printing and such. So I'm off into the world of the repeat command! lol

Cheers!
Stu

stuartls
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:59 pm
Contact:

Post by stuartls » Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:18 pm

Mark!

Got a loop to run, and correctly I might add! When I get it to where I think it almost needs to be I'll post it for your review. I'm already thinking of ways to cut down on the lines of code, but like I said earlier I like to get it to work first and then tweek it. I was so happy today that I got the loop to work and to manipulate the text in "wrongquestions" that well I have had a beer or two. I'm putting together a "print" button now. With your help I am getting there!!! lol

Stu

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:23 am

Hi Stu,

Looks like you are getting somewhere, indeed.

Here is something I tend to forget myself. When you are printing from a Windows PC, try printing with the formatForPrinting property of your stack or field set to true respectively false and compare the results. Always set the formatForPrinting to false, after printing.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

stuartls
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:59 pm
Contact:

Post by stuartls » Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:41 pm

Mark,

Is there any way around hiding the fields that you do not want printed? For example on my final page I have alot of fields that I do not want printed. It is my understanding that you can only print a card and not a field. So I have to to hide fields. Now I have grouped my fields to cut down on the "hide" command but anyway around this?

Cheers!
Stu

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:45 pm

Hi Stuart,

Probably, a better way is to make a substack for your project and put all information that you want to print on a card of that substack. Then print that card. You can do this while the substack is hidden or located off-screen or maybe it is even possible to print a card of the substack without opening it. I haven't tried the latter yet.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

stuartls
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:59 pm
Contact:

Post by stuartls » Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:51 am

Mark,

I have everything in one stack, on various cards. What is the advantages to having different stacks?

Cheers!

Stu

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:31 pm

Stu,

You can open several windows at the same time, without disturbing the user's work. You can also open a window hidden and use it for background tasks. You can make a library stack with scripts and use this library in several projects. Note that the answer and ask dialogs are also stacks. There are many reasons to have more than one stack.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”