Refactoring

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer

Refactoring

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:28 am

I have a very, very clunky thing called "Devawriter Pro" which I have been developing for about 9 years.

It is clunky in these ways:

1. Orphaned code left over from earlier recensions
[Mainly focussed on the numToChar/ numToCodePoint switchover].

2. Horrible reduplication of code [think 50 buttons using 99% the same code].

3. Other "side-projects" that never got "there" but still lying around under the hood.

According to a conservative estimate I could reduce the size of my main stack by at least 50%.

Questions that inevitably pop up are:

1. Is the time that will be involved in refactoring going to be reflected in terms of a financial increase.
[This question is a load of old "sh*t" as I've never made more that $400 a year for the thing:
I just shoved it in here for completeness.]

2. How much of this can be done automatically?
[Probably in my case, NONE, as LiveCode does not understand the "joys" of
ancient Indian writing systems.]

3. How can I ensure that as I change bits of code in various places it does not have unseen and
unsuspected consequences elsewhere?

4. Version tracking? Should I build an autosave script into the stack prior to doing anything else?

5. Why am I even bothering to think about this and write these questions?

WELL, at least I can answer #5:

AND it comes in 2 parts . . . :D

Because I am well aware that if I really want to keep going with this thing [think "bottomless pit"]
the cracks are going to start appearing very, very soon if I don't address the fact that, like MacOS 9,