Browser Widget and external JavaScript files

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

folko

Browser Widget and external JavaScript files

Post by folko » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:29 am

Hi Livecode community,

This is my first post. So please forgive me if my question should belong to another thread.

I am new to Livecode, coming from JavaScript, AS3 etc. I did some experiments with the browser widget. I successfully managed the 2-directional communication (LC to JS and JS to LC). What i try to achieve: building a LC-Standalone Application capable of "cleaning up" SVG-files located in local html files. This works fine already.

The next step would be to set animation params and play the SVG-animation within the browser widget. This doesnt work well.

Here is my problem:

The final animation is done in JavaScript (own script, no jQuery).
To keep the HTML/JavaScript clean, the JavaScript files are kept separated (external files)
When tested purely in a "normal" Browser, animations work as aspected. So: the JavaScript is fine.
But: when loaded into the browser widget, animations wont play.

Testing:
This also happens, when using JS frameworks. In this case: Snap.js

More testing:
Instead of using an external JavaScript file, i copied that into the main html file. Bingo: now this works also in the browser widget !?

So my question is:

- Does the "liveCode"-Object (LCs extension to the browser) interferes with external .js files ?
- Is this a known issue?
- work arounds?
- btw. i am using the community edition

Thanks in advance, Folko

Klaus

Re: Browser Widget and external JavaScript files

Post by Klaus » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:48 pm

Hi Folko,

welcome to the forum! :D