copy a part of a paint image by script Solved

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

copy a part of a paint image by script Solved

Post by jmburnod » Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:23 pm

Hi All,
I search a way to copy a part of a paint image
I tried the script below but it doesn't work

Code: Select all

on copyPartImage
   lock screen
   hide grc "cadreCopy"
   set the tool to "select tool"
   click at the topleft of grc "cadreCopy"
   drag from the topleft of grc "cadreCopy" to the bottomright of grc "cadreCopy"
   wait 2 milliseconds
   copy
   wait 2 milliseconds
   click at 2,2
   answer (the clipboarddata["image"] = empty) -- return true
   paste
end copyPartImage
Export a snapshot which keeps transparent areas should be an other way but I don't know how.
Best regards
Jean-Marc
Last edited by jmburnod on Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
https://alternatic.ch

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9578
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script

Post by dunbarx » Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:12 am

Jean Marc.

I placed a few controls on a card. One of them was a button with this in its script:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   choose pointer tool 
   click at "10,10"
   drag from "10,10" to "500,500"
   copy
  paste
end mouseUp
When I click the button, I get a copy of each control. The tool remains the pointer tool, and I can go and grab one or more of the duplicates.

Craig Newman

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script

Post by jmburnod » Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:57 am

Hi Craig,
Your script works fine with pointer tool and controls but i want to do the same with
the select tool and a paint image to copy a part of the image
Jean-Marc
https://alternatic.ch

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9578
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script

Post by dunbarx » Fri Jan 05, 2018 4:27 pm

Jean Marc.

If I change "pointer tool" to "Select tool", place an image, and drag over only part of that image, the whole image is duplicated.

8.1.8

Craig

EDIT.

If i do that several times, only one copy is produced, even though all the previous images underly each other perfectly. Apparently only the topmost image "sees" the select tool.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7214
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script

Post by jacque » Fri Jan 05, 2018 8:16 pm

I think you'd have better luck using the import snapshot command with the parameter "with effects". You can either set a rect or let the user drag out a region. The new image will appear at the center of the card.

If you want the image in the clipboard you can copy the new image and optionally delete it.

Code: Select all

import snapshot from rect tRect with effects

Or:

import snapshot with effects
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script

Post by jmburnod » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:49 am

I tried,

Code: Select all

   import snapshot from rect (the rect of grc "cadreCopy") of this cd with effects
Transparent areas are opaque

Code: Select all

import snapshot with effects
Error description: Handler: can't find handler
Hint: with
Best regards
Jean-Marc
https://alternatic.ch

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7214
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script

Post by jacque » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:06 pm

Okay, it's time to pull out the big guns:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
  clone img 1 -- the original image
  put the ID of it into tImgID
  put the rect of img ID tImgID into tRect
  subtract 200 from item 4 of tRect -- adjust this to what you want
  crop img ID tImgID to tRect
end mouseUp
When you know it works, you can lock the screen.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script

Post by jmburnod » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:52 am

Thanks Jacqueline,
Big gun works.
I have to add 30 to each item of the rect but i don't know why (topleft of my original image = 1,156)


Edit: I was wrong for topleft which is = 156,1
https://alternatic.ch

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script

Post by jmburnod » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:06 pm

This works perfectly to export a part (rectangle) of a paint image :D

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   clone img 1 -- the original image
   put the ID of it into tImgID
   put the rect of grc "cadrecopy" into tRect
   repeat with i = 1 to 4
      add 30 to item i of tRect
   end repeat
   crop img ID tImgID to tRect
   put specialfolderpath("documents") & "/" & "TestImg.png" into tPath
   export img id tImgID to file tPath as PNG
end mouseUp
Thanks again
Jean-Marc
https://alternatic.ch

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7214
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script Solved

Post by jacque » Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:05 pm

My handler adjusts the rect of the clone directly. Your handler uses the rect of another object, which is why you need to add the offset. If you align the clone to the graphic before cropping, it should work without any math adjustments.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: copy a part of a paint image by script Solved

Post by jmburnod » Mon Jan 08, 2018 10:42 am

If you align the clone to the graphic before cropping
That is the trick :D
https://alternatic.ch

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”