4 and 5 mouse buttons

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
makeshyft
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by makeshyft » Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:01 am

hi everyone,

I have used another mouse to death, and I bought a new one today that has a forward and back navigation buttons....works in browser....

mouseUp messages do not register the extra buttons... neither does rawkeydown

is there anything i can do to get livecode to recognize these so that I can give them functionality?

Thanks as always
Founder & Developer @ MakeShyft R.D.A - https://www.makeshyft.com
Build Software with AppStarterStack for Livecode - https://www.AppStarterStack.com
Save Time with The Time Saver's Toolbox - https://www.TimeSaversToolbox.com

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9833
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:36 am

How do other apps handle it?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

makeshyft
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by makeshyft » Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:33 am

My chrome based browser lets me go forward and back..... so the driver is registering the clicks..... I thought rawkey would do it...but no cigar..... :?
Founder & Developer @ MakeShyft R.D.A - https://www.makeshyft.com
Build Software with AppStarterStack for Livecode - https://www.AppStarterStack.com
Save Time with The Time Saver's Toolbox - https://www.TimeSaversToolbox.com

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7230
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by jacque » Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:15 pm

Do you get keycodes in a rawKeyUp handler?
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

LCNeil
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:07 pm

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by LCNeil » Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:21 pm

Have a look at the message watcher as well to see if any messages fired when pressing these buttons.

From within the LiveCode IDE "Devlopment-->Message Watcher"

Kind Regards,

Neil Roger
--
LiveCode Support Team ~ http://www.livecode.com
--

makeshyft
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by makeshyft » Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:46 pm

that was a good idea.....there are no messages sent .... :( maybe i will add a feature request to the quality control site.
Founder & Developer @ MakeShyft R.D.A - https://www.makeshyft.com
Build Software with AppStarterStack for Livecode - https://www.AppStarterStack.com
Save Time with The Time Saver's Toolbox - https://www.TimeSaversToolbox.com

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by Thierry » Wed Feb 10, 2016 6:21 pm

makeshyft wrote:that was a good idea.....there are no messages sent .... :(
Out of curiosity, are you on a Mac or a PC?

Regards,

Thierry
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

makeshyft
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by makeshyft » Wed Feb 10, 2016 6:34 pm

Windows 7 64
Founder & Developer @ MakeShyft R.D.A - https://www.makeshyft.com
Build Software with AppStarterStack for Livecode - https://www.AppStarterStack.com
Save Time with The Time Saver's Toolbox - https://www.TimeSaversToolbox.com

quailcreek
Posts: 746
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: McKenna, WA

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by quailcreek » Thu Feb 11, 2016 6:49 pm

Does this give an answer?

Code: Select all

   on mouseUp theButton
      answer theButton
   end mouseUp
Tom
MacBook Pro OS Mojave 10.14

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9833
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Feb 11, 2016 7:18 pm

If the device doesn't require custom drivers I'd double-check rawKeyDown. What was the code you used to test that?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

SparkOut
Posts: 2852
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by SparkOut » Thu Feb 11, 2016 7:48 pm

On Windows 10 here with LC 7.1.1 using a 5-button Microsoft USB IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 mouse, I get no rawkeydown message from any of the buttons at all, except for the scroll wheel (counts as one of the buttons). I get code 65308 from the scroll down action and 65309 from the scroll up action (as described in the Dictionary). rawkeyup does not provide ANY value.
Depressing the scroll wheel generates the mouseDown/mouseUp/usual mouseMessages.
The two buttons on the left side of the mouse generate no messages at all in my view here.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9833
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Feb 11, 2016 8:14 pm

Ah, I missed that this was a Microsoft product. Probably relies on custom OS level support. Still, would be interesting to see what their developer docs suggest. Have you looked those up?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

SparkOut
Posts: 2852
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: 4 and 5 mouse buttons

Post by SparkOut » Thu Feb 11, 2016 11:54 pm

No because I was only wondering how it worked on my system to check against the OP's experience.

I have found that the Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Centre allows you to assign app-specific actions to the different buttons. I haven't tried in a standalone but the IDE will respond to buttons to which I assign key combinations. (Works with keydown and rawkeydown that way)

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”