Distorted Graphics when moving

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
xfratboy
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:09 pm

Distorted Graphics when moving

Post by xfratboy » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:40 pm

I'm having a big problem with graphics and/or images being distorted when moving. When creating animation using the MOVE or the "set loc" method, I get a fragmentation or rather distorted redrawing of the grc as it moves. In the attached example, I have a basic shape "grc ObjBall" moving from one side of the screen to the other. As I increase the speed of the move the distortion is more profound. In short, the roundness seems to be lost and the ball will appear deformed as it moves. I will see a flickering of the edges, almost morphing into a square-ball like shape. Can anyone explain this?
TestMovingGraphics.zip
Example Stack of Moving Graphic with speed and size controls
(3.26 KiB) Downloaded 59 times

RogGuay
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 12:10 am

Re: Distorted Graphics when moving

Post by RogGuay » Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:03 am

I'm not seeing what you describe. It looks good to me on a MacBook Pro Retina and OS X 10.11.2.

Best,

Roger

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5112
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Distorted Graphics when moving

Post by jacque » Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:43 am

Use acceleratedRendering, and set the layermode of the moving object to "dynamic".
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

xfratboy
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:09 pm

Re: Distorted Graphics when moving

Post by xfratboy » Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:16 pm

I tried that but see no improvements...maybe even worse. Perhaps its an issue with my system:
HP Laptop running Windows 8
8gb ram
Intel i5 CPU
Intel HD Video Graphics 5500 Chipset

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”