MAC Standalone created on PC doesn't execute on Mac

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
bergsy
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:51 pm

MAC Standalone created on PC doesn't execute on Mac

Post by bergsy » Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:34 pm

Hi,

I have Livecode on a PC development platform (LC 7.1). When I create a Mac standalone app and copy it to a Mac, it won't execute. However if I build the standalone on the Mac it executes just fine.

Seems to be a permissions thing but I don't know enough about Mac to figure out how to solve it.

Any advice appreciated

Cheers

Greg

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4600
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: MAC Standalone created on PC doesn't execute on Mac

Post by richmond62 » Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:20 am

I have had similar problems with Macintosh standalones built on Linux.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4600
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: MAC Standalone created on PC doesn't execute on Mac

Post by richmond62 » Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:40 am

Have a look at this:

http://use-livecode.runrev.narkive.com/ ... ows-studio

Where Richard Gaskin explains about 'executable bits'.

The "long-and-the-short" is that you need access to a Macintosh computer
to get your Mac standalones up-and-running.

I don't know whether the LiveCode people can address this problem
in the future.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4600
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: MAC Standalone created on PC doesn't execute on Mac

Post by richmond62 » Wed Jan 20, 2016 11:13 am

Thinking I would be clever . . .

I ran off a Mac Intel executable from LC 7.1 on my Xubuntu box,
opened the file path:

SILLY.app/Contents/MacOS/SILLY

and tried to set the executable bit with Linux . . .

BUT the properties 'thing' in XFCE does not show the 'SILLY' file
as potentially executable.

Here are comparable screenshots:
Linux.png
Mac.png
trying this:
chmod.png
chmod.png (48.63 KiB) Viewed 1392 times
also brought no joy.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”