Groups do not nest

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
lgoin
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 3:01 pm

Groups do not nest

Post by lgoin » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:54 pm

Hi!
I'm trying to nest 3 groups. One of the groups has a lot of controls while the other two have about 3 each. I can select all three groups and the inspector shows that "multiple groups" are selected. However, when I choose "Group Selected" nothing happens. I expected the handles on the groups to change to one set of handles and the inspector to show that a new group had been created and display a group id. Instead the three groups remain individually selected and the inspector still says "multiple groups".

I've successfully tested the process of creating nested groups using 3 groups that contain only a couple of controls. But when I try to replicate the process with more complex groups it seems to fail. Does anyone have any insights?

Thanks!
Laura

zaxos
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 11:15 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Groups do not nest

Post by zaxos » Tue Sep 15, 2015 6:17 pm

Have you try'd it by script?

Code: Select all

group grp "group1" and grp "group2" and grp "group3"
Knowledge is meant to be shared.

kevin007
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 7:46 am

Re: Groups do not nest

Post by kevin007 » Wed Sep 23, 2015 5:48 am

Hi,

How I group these group into a single group.
group grp "group1" and grp "group2" and grp "group3"
is it possible

Thanks
Shalu
--
Thanks
Kevin

Klaus
Posts: 12067
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Groups do not nest

Post by Klaus » Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:33 pm

HI shalu,

I ususally do something like this:

Code: Select all

...
## Select all 3 groups:
repeat with i = 1 to 3
  set the selected of grp ("group" & i) to TRUE
end repeat

## Now group them
group

## Deselect everything again
select empty
...
Done! :D


Best

Klaus

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”