Get available memory?

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
makeshyft
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

Get available memory?

Post by makeshyft » Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:51 am

Hi everyone,

Wondering what you guys thought the best way was to get the available memory from the OS? Windows is my dev platform.

Cheers,

Tom
Founder & Developer @ MakeShyft R.D.A - https://www.makeshyft.com
Build Software with AppStarterStack for Livecode - https://www.AppStarterStack.com
Save Time with The Time Saver's Toolbox - https://www.TimeSaversToolbox.com

AndyP
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: Get available memory?

Post by AndyP » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:38 am

Hi Tom,

You can use a shell command for this

//get all win system info

set the hideConsoleWindows to true
put shell ("systeminfo")

//for the Total memory

set the hideConsoleWindows to true
put shell ("systeminfo | find " & quote& "Total Physical Memory"& quote)

//for the Available memory

set the hideConsoleWindows to true
put shell ("systeminfo | find " & quote& "Available Physical Memory"& quote)
Andy Piddock
https://livecode1001.blogspot.com Built with LiveCode
https://github.com/AndyPiddock/TinyIDE Mini IDE alternative
https://github.com/AndyPiddock/Seth Editor color theming
http://livecodeshare.runrev.com/stack/897/ LiveCode-Multi-Search

makeshyft
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: Get available memory?

Post by makeshyft » Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:55 pm

THANK YOU! I will try this.
Founder & Developer @ MakeShyft R.D.A - https://www.makeshyft.com
Build Software with AppStarterStack for Livecode - https://www.AppStarterStack.com
Save Time with The Time Saver's Toolbox - https://www.TimeSaversToolbox.com

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”