Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

KennyR
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:25 am

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by KennyR » Fri Jun 07, 2013 1:56 am

one might take from your totally tubular post that a cat might place the script of the handler inside that openCard handler....but I might just be burnt out and not thinking correctly....

Klaus
Posts: 12124
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by Klaus » Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:15 am

Hi guys,

sorry for being so sceptical about scaling datagrids ;-)


Best

Klaus

KennyR
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:25 am

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by KennyR » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:19 pm

Well that's just fine in my book....Up until you and simon showed me how to use the friggin things, I was banished to the world of using fields with list behaviors! I am just happy to finally have a small grasp on how they work....getting them to resize is a minor detail in my estimation. I can't sing the praises of the resize handler enough for rookies like myself. If you think about it, getting the stacks to resize is a more "advanced" option for people like me who have only been with LC and development for 2 years or less. I guess you can teach old dogs new tricks (like me at 38), but it takes time and lots and lots of reading. I know some will laugh at being old at 38, but if you think about it, I bet the average age of people developing on any platform is around 20...I more or less do this for fun with the hopes of striking gold, so coding for me is relinquished to the times the wife and kids are asleep and I'm not being accused of shutting myself in my office and ignoring everyone! lol....I very much appreciate the help received from vets like you and simon....

Klaus
Posts: 12124
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by Klaus » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:23 pm

Hi Kenny,

if it helps: I am turning 57 this month, got my first computer (Mac LC) with 37 and started programming with 39 :-D


Best

Klaus

KennyR
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:25 am

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by KennyR » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:31 pm

That sounds just like me man...Just went rouge with Mac products in the house and pitched the PC's at 37....only reason I got a mac was to use it with LC and now it is the only thing I use....the pc gathers dust and only get dusted off when I need to test something I have created for PC... HA!

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by Simon » Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:21 pm

Hi Kenny,
Don't forget to write if adding the second loop fixed your card loading problem.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

archer2009BUSknbj
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:09 am
Location: London

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by archer2009BUSknbj » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:35 am

I've created an Android App with 5 Cards - do I have to go into every single card and cut and paste the output into a single stack as below?

Is there a way to create a single button that you just create once and it goes through all cards and works out the data needed?

Every single card in my application is the same width and height



on resizeStack
put the height of this stack into tHeight
put the width of this stack into tWidth
set the rect of image id 1006 of card id 1002 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(1* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1013 of card id 1002 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.427* tHeight),round(0.705* tWidth),round(0.505* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1014 of card id 1002 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.544* tHeight),round(0.705* tWidth),round(0.622* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1015 of card id 1002 to round(0.298* tWidth),round(0.658* tHeight),round(0.708* tWidth),round(0.736* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1016 of card id 1002 to round(0.298* tWidth),round(0.772* tHeight),round(0.708* tWidth),round(0.85* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1017 of card id 1002 to round(0.288* tWidth),round(0.891* tHeight),round(0.698* tWidth),round(0.969* tHeight)


set the rect of image id 1007 of card id 1003 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(1* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1018 of card id 1003 to round(0.7* tWidth),round(0.897* tHeight),round(0.99* tWidth),round(0.975* tHeight)


set the rect of image id 1008 of card id 1004 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(1* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1019 of card id 1004 to round(0.7* tWidth),round(0.895* tHeight),round(0.99* tWidth),round(0.973* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1024 of card id 1004 to round(0.598* tWidth),round(0.552* tHeight),round(0.943* tWidth),round(0.773* tHeight)


set the rect of image id 1009 of card id 1005 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(1* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1020 of card id 1005 to round(0.686* tWidth),round(0.897* tHeight),round(0.976* tWidth),round(0.975* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1023 of card id 1005 to round(0.225* tWidth),round(0.745* tHeight),round(0.785* tWidth),round(0.855* tHeight)



set the rect of image id 1011 of card id 1010 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(1* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1021 of card id 1010 to round(0.7* tWidth),round(0.897* tHeight),round(0.99* tWidth),round(0.975* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1022 of card id 1010 to round(0.225* tWidth),round(0.745* tHeight),round(0.785* tWidth),round(0.847* tHeight)
end resizeStack

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by Simon » Sat Jun 15, 2013 7:26 am

Is there a way to create a single button that you just create once and it goes through all cards and works out the data needed?
Yup!

Rats, was really hoping someone else would do this:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   put the height of this stack into tHeight
   put the width of this stack into tWidth
   put "on resizeStack" & cr & "put the height of this stack into tHeight" & cr & "put the width of this stack into tWidth" & cr into tResize
   repeat with N = 1 to the number of cards of this stack --new repeat line for multiple cards
      repeat with i = 1 to the number of controls of cd N
         put the long id of control i of cd N into tName
         if tName = the long id of me then next repeat
         put wordOffset("stack",tName) into tWord
         put word 1 to (tWord -2) of tName into tName
         put the rect of control i of cd N into tSize
         put round(item 1 of tSize / tWidth,3) into tLeft
         put round(item 2 of tSize /tHeight,3) into tTop
         put round(item 3 of tSize / tWidth,3) into tRight
         put round(item 4 of tSize / tHeight,3) into tBottom
         put "set the rect of" && tName && "to" && "round(" & tLeft & "* tWidth)" & comma & "round(" & tTop & "* tHeight)" & comma & \
               "round(" & tRight & "* tWidth)" & comma & "round(" & tBottom & "* tHeight)" & cr after tResize
      end repeat
   end repeat
   put "end resizeStack" after tResize
   set the clipboardData["text"] to tResize
   answer information "The script has been copied to the clipboard, paste it into the stack script" titled "Now paste it"
end mouseUp
There you go. :)

Kenny... are you watching?

Simon
edit code correction April '14
Last edited by Simon on Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

archer2009BUSknbj
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:09 am
Location: London

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by archer2009BUSknbj » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:47 pm

Not sure if it worked 100% or not - I loaded up an old version of my App that I created before using your resizing script - added a button and ran the script and pasted the result as below.

But when I resize the card the image resized perfectly but some of the buttons I drew on top didn't move correctly.

I think it has something to do with preloading the card into memory - I think if the script is run before the Preload into memory function has been turned off it doesn't always work correctly.

is there a way to get the script to automatically turn off the preload into memory option for each card and also set the quality of every image from normal to Good - this would be a handy time saver

Right now I'm just creating very basic apps that provide people with information. The way I'm creating my Apps at present is to simply draw the screen out in a program similar to Photoshop using a canvas the same as my Samsung Galaxy note 800 wide by 1280 pixel tall and then export that as a PNG File and draw hidden or light coloured buttons over the top on the image in LiveCode. Pressing these buttons just takes you to another page or to a URL or Google Map.
I could export each button I draw but that's a lot more time consuming then simply drawing a hidden button over the top.

on resizeStack
put the height of this stack into tHeight
put the width of this stack into tWidth
set the rect of image id 1006 of card id 1002 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(0.999* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1013 of card id 1002 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.427* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.505* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1014 of card id 1002 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.544* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.622* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1015 of card id 1002 to round(0.297* tWidth),round(0.658* tHeight),round(0.707* tWidth),round(0.736* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1016 of card id 1002 to round(0.297* tWidth),round(0.772* tHeight),round(0.707* tWidth),round(0.85* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1017 of card id 1002 to round(0.287* tWidth),round(0.891* tHeight),round(0.697* tWidth),round(0.969* tHeight)
set the rect of image id 1007 of card id 1003 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(0.999* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1018 of card id 1003 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.427* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.505* tHeight)
set the rect of image id 1008 of card id 1004 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(0.999* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1019 of card id 1004 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.427* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.505* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1024 of card id 1004 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.544* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.622* tHeight)
set the rect of image id 1009 of card id 1005 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(0.999* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1020 of card id 1005 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.427* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.505* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1023 of card id 1005 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.544* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.622* tHeight)
set the rect of image id 1011 of card id 1010 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight),round(0.999* tWidth),round(1* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1021 of card id 1010 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.427* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.505* tHeight)
set the rect of button id 1022 of card id 1010 to round(0.295* tWidth),round(0.544* tHeight),round(0.704* tWidth),round(0.622* tHeight)
end resizeStack

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by Simon » Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:08 pm

set the rect of image id 1007 of card id 1003 to round(0* tWidth),round(0* tHeight)
That makes a 0 size control...
Figure out why that is happening first. Must be that was their current size during the script building.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

KennyR
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:25 am

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by KennyR » Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:38 am

Simon....I am ....well a disappointment ...I was hoping to get to this and make you proud but I failed! I'm going to go to the island of misfit coders...

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by Simon » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:53 am

Don't be silly Kenny,
You haven't whined once and that's great!
So many times people say "This command doesn't work, LC is broken".
Now that really gets my knickers in a twist. :)

Keep up the good work,
Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

OzSanta
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:48 pm
Location: Bendigo, Australia

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by OzSanta » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:07 am

G'day, and thank you Simon for the reSizer script.

I've written a stack that I wanted to run on 11", 13", & 15" notebooks, at 610 x 800, and also on an iPad at 768 x 800, so I had to re-write the reSizer so it only shrank vertically if on a smaller notebook, but resized horizontally on an iPad. Also, when icon containing buttons were resized, there was an 'overhang' of the active area.

So, this revised script not only resizes horizontally if on an iPad, but also relocates buttons with icons, rather than resizing them. You also get to choose if you want to resize buttons without icons.

Hope it's useful to someone!

Regards

Santa

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
      answer "Do you want to resize buttons without icons?" with "No" or "Yes" or "Cancel"
   if it = cancel then exit mouseup
   put it into theButtonFlag
   put the height of this stack into tHeight
      put the width of this stack into tWidth
      put "on resizeStack" & cr & "put the height of this stack into tHeight" & cr & "put the width of this stack into tWidth" & cr into tResize
     put " if the environment = "&quote& "mobile" &quote&"then"&cr after tResize
    
    repeat with thecard = 1 to number of cards of this stack
      go to card thecard of this stack
      repeat with i = 1 to the number of controls of this card 
               put the long id of control i into tName
               if tName = the long id of me then next repeat
               put wordOffset("stack",tName) into tWord
               put word 1 to (tWord -2) of tName into tName
               put the rect of control i into tSize
               put round(item 1 of tSize / tWidth,3) into tLeft
               put  (item 2 of tSize ) into tTop
               put round(item 3 of tSize / tWidth,3) into tRight
               put  (item 4 of tSize ) into tBottom
               if word 1 of long id of control i is not "Button" or (theButtonFlag = "Yes" and the icon of  control i is 0) then
            put "set the rect of" && tName && "to" && "round(" & tLeft & "* tWidth)" & comma & " (" & tTop &")" & comma & \
                              "round(" & tRight & "* tWidth)" & comma & "(" & tBottom & ")" & cr after tResize
            else
            put "set the location of" && tName && "to" && "round(" & tLeft & "* tWidth)" &&"+"&&(item 3 of tSize-item 1 of tSize) div 2 +1\
            & comma & " (" & tTop&&"+" && (tBottom-tTop)div 2 +1&")" & cr after tResize
           end if
      end repeat
   end repeat
   
   put "else" & cr after tResize
   
   repeat with thecard = 1 to number of cards of this stack
      go to card thecard of this stack
      repeat with i = 1 to the number of controls of this card 
               put the long id of control i into tName
               if tName = the long id of me then next repeat
               put wordOffset("stack",tName) into tWord
               put word 1 to (tWord -2) of tName into tName
               put the rect of control i into tSize
               put round(item 1 of tSize / tWidth,3) into tLeft
               put round(item 2 of tSize /tHeight,3) into tTop
               put round(item 3 of tSize / tWidth,3) into tRight
               put round(item 4 of tSize / tHeight,3) into tBottom
               put "set the rect of" && tName && "to" && "round(" & tLeft & "* tWidth)" & comma & "round(" & tTop & "* tHeight)" & comma & \
                           "round(" & tRight & "* tWidth)" & comma & "round(" & tBottom & "* tHeight)" & cr after tResize
         end repeat
      end repeat
   
   put "end if" & cr after tResize
   put "end resizeStack" after tResize
      set the clipboardData["text"] to tResize
      answer information "The script has been copied to the clipboard, paste it into the stack script" titled "Now paste it"
end mouseUp

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by Simon » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:06 pm

Hey Santa,
Thanks for contributing to this code.

I wonder what LC's Resolution Independence will look like? Will it have options for cases like yours?

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

strongbow
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 1:39 am
Location: New Zealand, Australia, Germany, Japan
Contact:

Re: Multiple resolutions, resize stack a solution

Post by strongbow » Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:24 pm

G'day all

Just in case you weren't aware of it, Monte presented his scaling/resolution independent framework called mApp at the LC Developer conference a month or so ago. He has it available on his website at mergext.com

Definitely worth a look. I'm currently using it and hoping to get at least some starting docs done for it one of these days.

cheers

Alan

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”