How to set app languages for the AppStores?

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
jens.greiner
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Germany

How to set app languages for the AppStores?

Post by jens.greiner » Tue Apr 17, 2012 2:29 pm

Hi, I didn't found any satisfying answer to this topic in forums or docs.

How could I set the languages my app is supporting to be shown in the iOS (for example) AppStore?
If my app supports English and German I want it to show on the appstore page for my app too.

I know, it is an plist item. But as far as I know modifying the plist after building the app makes the app invalid (because of signature?) and it gets rejected by Apple.

How does it work for the Android (google) AppStore?

Thank you!

May be I missed some doc/tutorial/thread about it, so please point me to the solution. %-)

Jens
Mac OSX 10.7.4 Lion, LiveCode 5.5 (Commercial)
on MacBook Pro 2.66GHz Intel Core i7 8GB RAM
Targets: iOS (iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4(s), iPad2), Android (Emulator), Mac, Windows, LC-Server (On-Rev)

jens.greiner
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to set app languages for the AppStores?

Post by jens.greiner » Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:00 pm

Hi, is there really nobody else with this issue? :shock:
Mac OSX 10.7.4 Lion, LiveCode 5.5 (Commercial)
on MacBook Pro 2.66GHz Intel Core i7 8GB RAM
Targets: iOS (iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4(s), iPad2), Android (Emulator), Mac, Windows, LC-Server (On-Rev)

monte
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:47 am
Contact:

Re: How to set app languages for the AppStores?

Post by monte » Tue May 08, 2012 12:29 am

Hi

What you need to do is add empty .lproj folders for each language you support using the Copy Files section of the standalone builder. For French it would be fr.lproj and so on. This works for both OS X and iOS and will cause the system translate the standard dialogs like mail on iOS etc.

Cheers

Monte
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

jens.greiner
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to set app languages for the AppStores?

Post by jens.greiner » Tue May 08, 2012 6:55 am

Hi monte,

thank you very much. :)

If I add such a folder "fr.lproj" to my app, is English always a default language for the app and the AppStore shows now two languages? Or is the app then French only?

Cheers
Mac OSX 10.7.4 Lion, LiveCode 5.5 (Commercial)
on MacBook Pro 2.66GHz Intel Core i7 8GB RAM
Targets: iOS (iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4(s), iPad2), Android (Emulator), Mac, Windows, LC-Server (On-Rev)

monte
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:47 am
Contact:

Re: How to set app languages for the AppStores?

Post by monte » Tue May 08, 2012 10:00 am

The default is a plist setting so you need to edit the templates inside the livecode app bundle for that.
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

jens.greiner
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to set app languages for the AppStores?

Post by jens.greiner » Tue May 08, 2012 12:04 pm

That's what I had already thought, but so far I didn't want to mess around with the LiveCode bundle. :shock:

Since to modify my final app bundle is not a valid option because of loosing the integrity of the signed bundle, I see two ways to go.
1. Have a look at the templates.
2. Make only apps with at least two languages and use the .lproj folders... :wink:

May be I should make an app to modify the templates via menus and drop downs. :lol:

Thank you very much for your help!

Cheers,
Jens
Mac OSX 10.7.4 Lion, LiveCode 5.5 (Commercial)
on MacBook Pro 2.66GHz Intel Core i7 8GB RAM
Targets: iOS (iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4(s), iPad2), Android (Emulator), Mac, Windows, LC-Server (On-Rev)

Mag
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: How to set app languages for the AppStores?

Post by Mag » Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:27 pm

Hi all, very useful topic. Somebody knows if there are differences between using "English.lproj" or "en.lproj" as name of folders?

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”