Is rIDE still in development?

Moderators: heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller, wilstrand

Post Reply
planix
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:47 pm

Is rIDE still in development?

Post by planix » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:04 am

Hi All,

I am interested in using rIDE with LC8(CE). I have been away from LC for quite a few years.

Downloaded rIDE3.5 and loaded it as a plugin. All sorts of errors happened. Nonfunctional.

I may just be trying to use this wrong.

Two questions;

1) Does rIDE work with LC8(CE)?
2) If so, what is the correct way to 'install' and run it?

cheers

Alistair Campbell
Brisbane Australia
****************************************
PLANIX
"Knowing anything is better than knowing nothing. But knowing that nothing ain't anything, why that's just plain nirvana."

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6105
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Is rIDE still in development?

Post by FourthWorld » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:50 am

I took the liberty of moving this thread to the rIDE forum so hopefully the author will see it.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

planix
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:47 pm

Re: Is rIDE still in development?

Post by planix » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:57 am

Thanks for that.
****************************************
PLANIX
"Knowing anything is better than knowing nothing. But knowing that nothing ain't anything, why that's just plain nirvana."

bogs
Posts: 2074
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Is rIDE still in development?

Post by bogs » Sun Feb 11, 2018 4:44 am

Heh, I guess it must have been in the Metacard section, I got notified there was a new topic there :D

I haven't seen anything newer than 3.5.x, released around 2014 on what I believe is his site. I *know* it works from about Lc6.5.2 to 7.1.4 (one error, insignificant from what I could see).
Image

planix
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:47 pm

Re: Is rIDE still in development?

Post by planix » Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:01 am

Thanks.

I'm left wondering if I am doing the install wrong.

Is the 'install' just a matter of putting the rIDE into the plugins folder?
****************************************
PLANIX
"Knowing anything is better than knowing nothing. But knowing that nothing ain't anything, why that's just plain nirvana."

bogs
Posts: 2074
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Is rIDE still in development?

Post by bogs » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:48 pm

Yes, that is where it goes as far as I know. If you had major errors in Lc 8.x, your not doing it wrong, errors started showing as I said about 7.1.4.

Version 3.5 was some kind of super update, twice the size of the previous version. It looks like according to this post, he was still working on 4 before Lc 6.6.x came out, I've never seen rIDE-4 come out though. I hope nothing happened to him.

I always thought rIDE was interesting, although I don't use it myself past the initial testing (at the time I found it, I was and still am really interested in Mc), so I only used it a few times. He has some great ideas going in it.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “rIDE”