Lesson 4 - Question and Problem

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
stellify
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 12:28 am

Lesson 4 - Question and Problem

Post by stellify » Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:51 pm

I've worked my way through lesson 4 and all appeared to be ok.

I have a question and a problem.

The Question:
In the video Eleanor mentions that that you don't have to define a variable, but it is an option you can switch on, where do you do this and would it help with a problem I had earlier where in the card script I had put coma instead of comma which didn't return an error when I saved the card, which I would have expected..?

The problem:
I've got Locate Me working on the desktop, so it shows the run rev office as a location in google maps, but when I run it in the IOS simulator nothing is returned. In the video it says you will have a random location returned because there is obviously no sensor on the simulator, but on the video the simulator shows the same run rev office location. I guess my question is should I expect to see a location returned in the IOS simulator?

Thanks

Mark

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3900
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Lesson 4 - Question and Problem

Post by Simon » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:34 pm

Hi Mark,
To your first question in the menu Edit>Preferences>Script Editor select "Strict Compilation Mode"
I don't like it myself, but yeah, I think it would have caught coma.

Not sure on the second part. In the card script, the "function currentLocationURL" do you have:

Code: Select all

   if tLatitude is empty then 
      put "55.953969" into tLatitude
   end if
   
   if tLongitude is empty then 
      put "-3.198784" into tLongitude
   end if
That will fill-in data for the sim making it appear to have real sensors (well if you were in Scotland) :)

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

stellify
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 12:28 am

Re: Lesson 4 - Question and Problem

Post by stellify » Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:17 pm

Hi Simon

thanks for the reply, I'll give "Strict Compilation Mode" a try.

I think I have everything I need in the Scotland finding "curentLocationURL" function it's below:

Code: Select all

function currentLocationURL
   local tLatitude, tLongitude, tURL
   
   put item 1 of getCurrentLocation() into tLatitude
   put item 2 of getCurrentLocation() into tLongitude
   
   if tLatitude is empty then 
      put "55.953969" into tLatitude
      end if
         
         if tLongitude is empty then 
      put "-3.198784" into tLongitude
   end if 
   
   put "http://maps.google.com/maps?q=" & tLatitude & comma & tLongitude into tURL
   return tURL
   
end currentLocationURL
Thanks again

Regards
Mark

Post Reply

Return to “Summer School 2013”