how to troubleshoot in iOS simulator?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Diane

how to troubleshoot in iOS simulator?

Post by Diane » Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:28 am

Hello, I'm not sure if this the correct place to post this, but I am just getting started with LiveCode and have been following along with the webinars. In the recent Week5 Coursework, the LiveCode sample of the Ticked Off includes the resizing for the phone, so I tried it in the iPhone simulator. What I found was, while it ran and went to the various cards, I couldn't get it to create a new task. I eventually figured out what was wrong, but during the process I realized that I didn't have a good way of troubleshooting something like this.
Are any methods you could suggest, or any documents about it?
Thanks! BTW, Really enjoying the class, and looking forward to the weeks to come,
Diane

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: how to troubleshoot in iOS simulator?

Post by jacque » Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:52 am

The release notes mention that debugging is very rudimentary in iOS, but you can do a little from the simulator. Basically you use "put" to output any data you need to know about (usually the value of variables, but it can be anything.) When you "put" data without a destination, it goes to stdout, which the Console app picks up and logs. Then you can look in Console to see what got "put" there.

For example, in your standalone:

get the date
put it

In Console, you should see an output line containing the name of the simulator, followed by the current date.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Diane

Post by Diane » Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:54 pm