Totally New and wondering what to buy ?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

PhilAJ

Totally New and wondering what to buy ?

Post by PhilAJ » Sun May 15, 2011 2:35 pm

Hi - hope someone can help me.

I've got many years programming experience in commercial development - mainly using VBasic, and now am interested in getting involved with creating some Apps for Apple, Android and Windows.

Can someone please answer some basic questions - and I apologise if I'm just being lazy and could find the answers out elsewher, but i'm keen to get started;

- Am I right in thinking that Live Code lets you create an App in its own environment - then cross compiles into the native code for the required device, ie iPhone, Android, etc...?

- Will the finished Apps then just load and run on the target device - without the need for having some extra runtime code installed first?

- Are the finished Apps acceptable to be sold thru the Apple appstore etc..

- What components do I need to buy - I would be a single user of the system but want to just create Apps that I could sell for use on iPhone, Android and Windows devices. Do I need the Personal packages or the COmmercial ones - and which specific items?

- Can I develop for the Apple iPhone on a Windows PC - or do I have to have an Apple Mac.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Regards

Phil

mhoneywill

Re: Totally New and wondering what to buy ?

Post by mhoneywill » Sun May 15, 2011 4:12 pm

I'm by no means an expert but will answer what I can, here are your questions which I've numbered to make it easier for me and others to answer.

1. Am I right in thinking that Live Code lets you create an App in its own environment - then cross compiles into the native code for the required device, ie iPhone, Android, etc...?