Point Of Sale Application

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

jesse

Point Of Sale Application

Post by jesse » Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:37 pm

I am new to desktop programming. I have done a lot of PHP but no runrev, c, etc....
I am now embarking to learn how to build a replacement for our companies current
ERP Software (this is an ambitious project I realize but we dont have a lot of
faith in the company who owns the program and their future additionally
we find it very hard to find a program that meets all our needs.)

So my question to start: Is it possible and would you recommend using runrev to develop an ERP/point of sale application
that would manage purchasing, inventory, sales, customers, etc... IT would also need to accept credit
cards and process credit card transactions. It would utilize Microsoft SQL Server more than likely.

Thoughts?
Deving on WinVista Home Prem. SP2 32 bit. Using LiveCode 4.6.1 Pro Build 1392

kevinmiller
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member

Re: Point Of Sale Application

Post by kevinmiller » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:38 pm

I don't know if you've had a chance to look at the Case Studies on our site, but there is one that does something that has some similarities to what you describe:

http://www.runrev.com/solutions/it-sme- ... ms-dubuit/

We have a lot of customers who use LiveCode for this sort of application. The only part of your description that gives me pause is your use of Microsoft SQL Server. While you can connect to that using LiveCode & ODBC, we have direct drivers for MySQL and Postgres, so you might want to consider one of those unless you are tied to MSSQL for other business reasons?

I hope this is helpful. I'm sure others on these forums would be happy to chime in if you have more detailed technical questions.