Can LC be used to produce Progressive Web Apps?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

KimD

Can LC be used to produce Progressive Web Apps?

Post by KimD » Wed Sep 06, 2023 3:21 am

I've been developing for mobile & desktop using LC for several years. I've experimented with LC Server. I've never got the license for HTML LC.

A few days ago a past client said to me that they are probably going to move to using Progressive Web Apps (PWA) instead of native mobile apps. I hadn't heard of PWAs so I did a few hours research on Google. My first reaction was that PWAs seemed like a good way of getting less functionality at more cost. But the customer is always right and with the passing of a few days I've thought of at least one area in which PWAs might offer a significant advantage over native mobile apps.

With my few hours expertise, I'm not particularly clear on what distinguishes a PWA from a common-or-garden website. But I got to wondering to what extent HTML standalones produced by LC could replicate some of the key benefits of PWAs. In particular, can LC HTML standalones:
1) When the user has internet connectivity - be easily downloaded onto the users mobile device, without the standalone needing to be in the Google Play Store or IOS equivalent; then
2) Permanently reside on the users mobile device; then
3) When the user wanted - run in the browser of the users mobile device regardless of whether or not the user had internet connectivity at the time?

If "Yes" then I might need to get myself a LC HTML license.

Thanks

Kim

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Can LC be used to produce Progressive Web Apps?

Post by jacque » Wed Sep 06, 2023 5:33 pm

I found a pretty good explanation here https://www.simicart.com/blog/what-is-p ... e-web-app/