Pop-up Menu and Tab Key

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

MrAlobar

Pop-up Menu and Tab Key

Post by MrAlobar » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:23 pm

Anyone encountered and solved this one - it must have been encountered before (which makes me think I am missing something really obvious !) ...

With a pop-up menu open, using the tab key highlights menu items sequentially - great.
But, the other items on the card are simultaneously highlighted (with traversal on of course)!

I've been using Livecode for a few years and usually code my own pop-up menus but today I wanted to do a fast build of a prototype - unfortunately I've got side-tracked on this problem.

I've tried several work-arounds - the obvious one is to turn off traversal for all other objects whilst the menu is open - a cumbersome and ugly solution though.

Or am I missing something ?
I've Created it with Live Code, I've published it - that's the easy bit done, but how the hell do I get people to download it :?

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Pop-up Menu and Tab Key

Post by dunbarx » Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:07 pm

With a pop-up menu open, using the tab key highlights menu items sequentially - great.
But, the other items on the card are simultaneously highlighted (with traversal on of course)!
Huh? I don't see this, either with just the menuItems displayed raw, or with the cursor drawn down to one of them so that one menuItem is hilited. The tabKey does nothing.

I have a few other fields on the card. As long as the menuItem list is displayed, the tab key does not navigate from one field to another.

Craig Newman

MrAlobar

Post by MrAlobar » Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:26 pm

Hi Craig,
Mmm odd.

I've just created a clean stack and the behaviour is immediate - just a field and some buttons (traversal on) and a pop-up menu), no code.