Hilite Form Grid row based on time field

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

tbcomputerguy

Hilite Form Grid row based on time field

Post by tbcomputerguy » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:09 pm

Is it possible to have a grid row hilite based on a time field in the data from an sqlite database. In other words
Capture.PNG
as you can see there is a time that is displayed. Can the row be highlited when that time is compared to the internal time. BTW, i have now coding experience, an absolute beginner. I have managed to create the interface of the dances through lots of reading and watching. But as of yet had no luck extracting the current row data when clicked..(another post later)

Dave

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Hilite Form Grid row based on time field

Post by dunbarx » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:38 pm

Hi.

I can at least help a little with the time test. In a button script:

Code: Select all

local targetTime

on mouseUp
   ask "What time to Report?"
   convert it to seconds
   put it into targetTime
   checkTheTime targetTime
end mouseUp

on checkTheTime tTime
   if the optionkey is down then exit to top   
   if the seconds > targetTime then
      answer "It's time!" -- your code here
      exit to top
   end if
   send "checkTheTime" && the seconds  to me in 1
end checkTheTime
The optionKey line is just an escape.

I do not know what you like to use to display the time, so you may have to play with the "ask" line. In the US, I would, as written, get something like "1:30 PM". Be careful of the format.

Anyway, this will trigger the answer dialog when the time passes the FUTURE moment you set. The handler will run in the background forever in the current session, including if you open another application and work there.

Craig Newman

dunbarx