Using code hint help for fullScreenMode in Stack ??

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
ValiantCuriosity
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:08 am

Using code hint help for fullScreenMode in Stack ??

Post by ValiantCuriosity » Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:34 am

Hmmm,

This is a little interesting. When I use the code help in the code editor, I begin typing as usual and the box opens up:
fullScreenMode.png
I select it using the arrow down and then tab as was instructed.

So my code looks like this:
FullScreenModeError.png
FullScreenModeError.png (3.55 KiB) Viewed 2339 times
This causes the debugger to throw a little tantrum. "Danger Will Robinson" RED circle with X If I add "this" to the code, the debugger is happy again. Is the error in the help or is it that the help assumes I'm smarter than I am? (probably)

The script looks like this when the debugger is happy:

Code: Select all

on preOpenStack
   set the fullscreenmode of this stack to "showAll"
end preOpenStack
-Rachel
May I never be cured of my curiosity! :D

SparkOut
Posts: 2852
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Using code hint help for fullScreenMode in Stack ??

Post by SparkOut » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:58 am

You need to give a proper reference to any object.

"This stack" is a full reference because LiveCode will identify the context.

When you start out a reference by the object type, LiveCode will be expecting you to specify the object name (or id) as well, because otherwise how would it know which object to get/set the property?

So you need to

Code: Select all

set the fullScreenMode of stack "myStack" to "exact fit"
etc. The autocomplete can only predict what keywords you are dealing with in the editor, but it can't imagine what name of the object to provide.

It might be more helpful if the autocomplete suggestion included a set of quotes, indicating that you need to fill in the name.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7237
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Using code hint help for fullScreenMode in Stack ??

Post by jacque » Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:14 pm

This causes the debugger to throw a little tantrum.
This made me laugh. I never thought of it that way. :)
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

ValiantCuriosity
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:08 am

Re: Using code hint help for fullScreenMode in Stack ??

Post by ValiantCuriosity » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:44 pm

Jacque,

If you programed like I do, you'd be VERY familiar with debugger tantrums. :mrgreen:

Smiles,
-Rachel
May I never be cured of my curiosity! :D

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”