PopUp to TextLabel?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

martimer

PopUp to TextLabel?

Post by martimer » Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:31 am

I am a longtime programmer who has been "out of the game" and am trying to return to the hobby after a long absence. I need a little nudge here.

I am just trying to get restarted with how LC works, I have a lot settled but got stuck on this problem, I am hoping someone can either provide a simple example stack, or walk me through it. Could be a simple one stack example!

How do I get the data/selection from an Option Menu to a text Label Field via a short script? My goal is to eventually use a "centralized script" available from a stack to collect the various pieces of data from several Option Menus and spill the results into a Label Field for display of the calculations. Simple, I just cannot remember/find how to do that.

So, the Option Menu would get a value from its list of options (I understand how to make those custom selections) and pass it to a script that would perform some simple manipulations (I will be using "numerical data", I understand how to convert that from text to the integer equivalent) and then putting the results into a Label Field on the same stack.

Help is appreciated. I used to be able to do this sort of thing in other development environments. I understand methods and handlers and objects, etc. The syntax is a little different here and I am stumbling over remembered data. I thought I would not have this problem, but life is funny that way! To the best of my knowledge LC is the way I will be going in the future, so might as well make the transition! Strictly a hobbyist - my professional developer days are behind me.

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: PopUp to TextLabel?