What's wrong with "it" ??

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

WebiWan

What's wrong with "it" ??

Post by WebiWan » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:06 pm

I'm not a complete beginner, but this seems like such a simple issue that I thought this forum would be best. I have code that works and has been running on the Windows platform for a couple of years. I'm finally doing a MAC version and for some reason the same code will not run.

My business is in remote support. We have a server running the remote support software. That software makes a permanent connection to the server, which a lot of our customers are not fond of. So I wrote this program to connect and disconnect (start/stop the service) to our server at will.

First it checks the state of the connection and the GUI displays that status along with the appropriate buttons.
Then user action connects or disconnects
Then it checks the state again and the GUI displays the current status and the appropriate buttons.

Now the good news. Almost everything ran fine on the MAC with minor changes in syntax. What doesn't work is checking the status of the connection.

On both Windows and Mac I do all the work of the program by shelling out to a hidden command window/terminal. The script I use to check the state of the connection on the Mac actually works. It returns the correct information (either "yes" or "no") and it puts that information into the "it" variable. However... the following code will NEVER evaluate appropriately. It will ALWAYS evaluate to "else". I've tested it multiple different ways and it just seems this bit of code will never evaluate properly despite the correct information appearing in the "it" variable. By the way... this bit of code has not changed from Win to Mac, but I don't think that's the problem.