Page 1 of 1

Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:01 am
by agraham147
Hi there,

I have made a program and saved it as a standalone, then installed it on my other computer and when it runs there is no icon appearing in the taskbar. I have set the logo and application icons in the standalone settings and everything is fine. My program has the logo on the application file within the installed file and I can pin my program to my taskbar showing the icon but when I open it it doesn't turn into a button you can use to revert back to the program, I have to minimize everything on top of it to get back to it. Please can somebody help with my issue.

Thanks

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:25 pm
by agraham147
Does anyone know why my application icon isn't appearing on my taskbar, some help would really be appreciated?

Thanks

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:56 pm
by bogs
Sorry agraham147, I had meant to get back to your post but have been super busy the last little while. Which OS and version of Lc are you using?

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:59 pm
by agraham147
Windows and LiveCode 9

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:22 am
by bogs
Windows which, 7, 8, 10...?

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:16 pm
by agraham147
Windows 10 Home

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:15 pm
by bogs
I dunno, maybe I don't understand what your asking. I made a standalone, and then ran it and a button appeared in the windows taskbar.

When you said
... when it runs there is no icon appearing in the taskbar.
Did you mean there is nothing showing the program in the taskbar, or did you mean you don't see your custom icon showing on the button on the taskbar?
Win_10_experimenter [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_082.png
Taskbar button ... ?
Just for completeness, I moved it to a different Win box (7) and ran it there, but I still get an icon in the taskbar...
Win7Tester [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_083.png
Yep, taskbar button...
Win7Tester [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_083.png (11.23 KiB) Viewed 770 times

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:44 pm
by agraham147
There is no button in the taskbar for my standalone when it runs.

This is my standalone running (my app is set to full screen so normally the taskbar is not visible while it is running).
http://forums.livecode.com/download/fil ... w&id=10230

This is my standalone in it's file showing the logo for it.
http://forums.livecode.com/download/fil ... w&id=10231

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:56 pm
by bogs
I dunno then, agraham147, I didn't add one line of code to the test file and the button showed up on that on both Win10 and 7. I'll try adding a different icon to it and setting it to a full screen app to see if that changes anything.

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:28 pm
by agraham147
It's like my computer doesn't know it's running as it doesn't show up on the Task Manager either and if I shut my computer down with it still running it doesn't warn me there is a program still running like with other programs. Hope this information helps.

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 1:08 pm
by zaxos
You probably have the decorations of the window to empty. if I judge correctly from the image then you have a full-screen application, then just set the decorations to "title" only. It doesn't matter, the title won't be visible if the app is full screen.

Code: Select all

set the decorations of this stack to "title"
set the rect of this stack to the working screenRect

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:40 pm
by jacque
Expanding on zaxos comment, icons will only appear if the window is a normal toplevel window. Any other style (modeless, palette, etc.) won't display one.

Re: Icon not appearing in taskbar

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:00 pm
by agraham147
zaxos wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 1:08 pm
You probably have the decorations of the window to empty. if I judge correctly from the image then you have a full-screen application, then just set the decorations to "title" only. It doesn't matter, the title won't be visible if the app is full screen.

Code: Select all

set the decorations of this stack to "title"
set the rect of this stack to the working screenRect
Oh you're an absolute life saver!! I done what you said and now it works! Thanks very much!!