property inspector size issue

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
BlackBook
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:45 am

property inspector size issue

Post by BlackBook » Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:53 am

the y size of property inspector won't go above a really small size, so its very annoying. please help. video of bug in link.
https://driv e.google .com/open?id=1jd SFoHTnVknJZKIladG nZG0P-AkY_VrA

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2259
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by jmburnod » Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:42 am

Hi BlackBook ,
Welcome to this forum,
It seems that is an issue with windows
The link without typo
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1jdSFo ... 0P-AkY_VrA
Best regards
Jean-Marc

MaxV
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by MaxV » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:14 am

same problem on Linux
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

MaxV
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by MaxV » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:17 am

Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by richmond62 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:45 am

It would be lovely if the Property Inspector could have a resize "thing"
in the bottom-right-hand corner so end-users could make it whatever size they wanted.

For some reason that is completely beyond me,
one can make the Properties palette wider, but not taller.

bwmilby
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:37 am
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by bwmilby » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:00 am

Vertical does work after you switch tabs a few times. (Still a bug, but there is a work around).

The listed bug report is something that I’ve taken a look at. The proposed logic is pretty much what is used, but for some reason the initial resize permission isn’t getting set correctly (there is a setting for whether resize is allowed which looks to have the wrong value in some situations).

The custom props inspector is one that I’m particularly interested in addressing. The current behavior grows the tree widget and never shrinks it. I think growing the text box may be better. A splitter would be the best option, but not sure about implementing that.

There is already code submitted that will select the key when the highlight changes. I’m looking into auto select on add but that is proving to be more difficult (keys at the root level are currently the sticking point with the widget, PI is also going need additional changes since it doesn’t like the selection changing).
Brian Milby

Script Tracker https://github.com/bwmilby/lc-misc/tree/master/ScriptTracker

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5627
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by dunbarx » Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:32 pm

Brian.
Vertical does work after you switch tabs a few times. (Still a bug, but there is a work around).
Switching tabs does not enable vertical resizing for me (v.8.1). How do you do it?

Is that the workaround you mentioned?

Craig

bwmilby
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:37 am
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by bwmilby » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:16 pm

I only tested the workaround in 9 - mainly on Linux.
Brian Milby

Script Tracker https://github.com/bwmilby/lc-misc/tree/master/ScriptTracker

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by richmond62 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:21 pm

Digging around in "revPropertyInspector 1" I found this:
-
Screen Shot 2018-08-30 at 6.17.57 pm.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-30 at 6.17.57 pm.png (11.19 KiB) Viewed 345 times
-
which is NOT very helpful as I haven't a clue where resizeInspector might be

(and, before you ask, it doesn't seem to be in the stackScript of "revPropertyInspector 1").

Presumably resizeInspector is what one should consider hacking.
Last edited by richmond62 on Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by richmond62 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:29 pm

Commenting out the line:
on resizeStack
--resizeInspector
end resizeStack
has no obvious effect.

Which makes me wonder why it is there in the first place.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6236
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:34 pm

If you select a word in the Script Editor, right click, and then select "See Definition" from the context menu, it should take you to take handler.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2792
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by richmond62 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:48 pm

Thanks for the help.

This is like a treasure hunt:

resizeInspector > inspectorLayout > #Layout Inspector

which is very complicated indeed:

" # Loop through the editors and get the minimum width of the labels and editors
# To work out an initial row width"

Which is all very fine, BUT does not really explain why a drag on the bottom-right corner of the
property palette ONLY allows a horizontal resize.

Maybe this:

local tStackHeight is where the constraints take place:
set the minheight of me to tStackHeight
set the maxheight of me to tStackHeight
set the height of me to tStackHeight
certainly looks likely.

Nope: cancelling out those does not help at all either.

bogs
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: property inspector size issue

Post by bogs » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:52 pm

Oh WOW that is awesome Richard! Thank you!!
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”