Copy Card not working in LiveCode 9

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, kevinmiller

Post Reply
agraham147
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:18 am

Copy Card not working in LiveCode 9

Post by agraham147 » Fri May 25, 2018 8:33 pm

Hi,
I'm trying to copy a card but it doesn't let me. I go onto the card's Property Inspector and then go to the Edit Menu which should have the Copy Card option but it's not there and the normal Copy, Paste etc. options are greyed out. How do I copy my card?

Thanks, Aaron

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2168
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: Copy Card not working in LiveCode 9

Post by jmburnod » Sat May 26, 2018 6:34 pm

Hi Aaron,
You may use a script

Code: Select all

copy this cd 
from a btn or messages box
and you should see "paste objects" in edit menu
Best regards
Jean-Marc

agraham147
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:18 am

Re: Copy Card not working in LiveCode 9

Post by agraham147 » Sat May 26, 2018 8:16 pm

Thanks very much!

AndyP
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: Copy Card not working in LiveCode 9

Post by AndyP » Sat May 26, 2018 10:13 pm

you can also do this solely in the message box.
e.g.

copy card "myCard" from stack "myStack" to stack "myOtherStack"
Andy Piddock

http://2108.co.uk/tinyide/ - TinyIDE gives you more space to develop your ideas

http://2108.co.uk/script-editor-themer/ Script Editor Themer - Your code has never looked so good

My software never has bugs. It just develops random features

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”